Preview savez modifications and automatically restores deleted files

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by axelrd, Oct 18, 2013.

  1. axelrd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    #1
    So i'm sorting photos from last summer, select a batch and open it in Preview, rotate temporarily those that are vertical so I don't have to turn my head every time, and delete those I don't like, clicking "place in trash" directly from the preview side filmstrip thumbnail.

    When I exit the program I'm prompted to save the changes or not. I decline, as I don't want the images to be rotated permanently, and I have to click for every single image that has been modified, which is quite annoying if I have like a hundred. Then I find that all the images that I had temporarily rotated but deleted afterwards are back in my image folder, and they are rotated, even though I didnt save the modifications, and deleted them anyway.

    I'm running on OS 10.8.5 and I already disable the auto-save option in the general preferences. Used to run on 10.6 and when exiting the program after deleting and rotating 100s of photos, I used to be asked once to save or not the modifications, and if I clicked on no the program would exit and no image was rotated or back after deletion. This what I would expect preview to do now!

    Anyone has any idea of the problem and how to solve it?
     
  2. axelrd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    #2
    Update :

    Only the photos that I have modified in preview, then deleted (without any window asking me to save the changes or not) reappear in the finder with the modifications saved. The photos deleted from preview into the trash without prior modification are not restored into the finder.

    And why do I have to be asked to save the modifications for every single file?

    All this is very annoying!
     
  3. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #3
    I'm not sure I understand all of this. How did you delete these files, if not in the Finder? The only place I can think of is in the Save dialog, which you only get in an untitled document. You don't normally get a Save dialog for an existing file.

    OS X is designed to Auto-save and to use Version control. If you don't want the changes you've made, then click Revert to Last Opened, or use Duplicate when you start.

    My advice is that it's easier to get used to the new method, rather than trying to make it behave like the old method.
     
  4. Johnchapin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Boulder
    #4
    I like your advice, however when choosing "Revert to", the only choice is "Browse all versions". When going with that, it shows "No previous versions". Shouldn't the original be there? I've tried using Duplicate, but that seems to be a hassle, and you have to do it just right, or you still lose your original. I'm a Luddite and really like the old method. Can you steer us on how to get used to use the new?
     

Share This Page