Price versus longevity: 13" or 15"?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mktucker, May 23, 2010.

1. mktucker macrumors newbie

Hi, I've read up on the forums and this seems to be a common question, though I do hope not to be too repetitive...

I'm an engineering student and after a few months of serious research, I've decided to take the plunge and get my first Mac! Unfortunately, since I have to run AutoCAD, SolidWorks, and MATLAB, dual booting or running some sort of virtual machine for Windows is a necessity.

Since I have to run these processor hungry programs I originally wanted to jump on the new i5 model, but as a student I really would prefer something more mobile and affordable (the 13"). If I'm going to spend 1000+ dollars on a laptop I'd really like to have something that has some technological longevity and I'm afraid the 13" won't do it. Plus, can you blame me? The i5 is just sexy...

I do know that I can get an educational discount and that the back to school sales are coming soon (Sadly I cannot participate in the tax free holidays as I live in CA).

So as a college student what would you suggest, price (13") or longevity (15")*?

*the last laptop I had I kept for nearly 5 years...

2. aigoya macrumors member

I had the 13" pro, and I want to say that i have random lockups during VMware. (it freezes for 2-10 seconds if i'm trying to multitask).

I'd say go with the 15"
    And macconnection has their products for free shipping + no tax + rebate if you are interested. thats where i got mine.

3. PsychOfMSE macrumors member

4. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013

I would say get the 13". That's what I have and it runs the Autodesk suite fine, with only 2 gigs of ram. I'm sure it would be even faster with 4. A 13" will last you just as long as a 15", regardless of processor. You don't want to run CAD in a VM, I will tell you that for certain. No matter what CPU you have, software like that will lag in a virtual machine.