Prime Lens choice for Wedding Photography

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by andrew050703, Dec 6, 2008.

1. andrew050703 macrumors regular

andrew050703

Before I start I should say "I'm not a pro" - I have little intention of becoming a full-time wedding photographer; having said that, I enjoy taking pictures at weddings & want to avoid using 1600ISO.

My question is: What prime lens should I get for church interior wedding shots for the ceremony etc. I have limited budget so it'd have to be either

Canon 50mm f/1.4, or
    Canon 85mm f/1.8 (no I can't afford the 1.2 versions)

(having said that, I haven't ruled out third parties - just haven't looked)

I have a 40D (XTi?) so get the 1.6x crop; but don't know which holds up better for low light/focusing/sharpness etc. My local shop didn't have either instore so I can't compare. I'd welcome any experiences with either.

The main thing I want to avoid is having to be in someone's face to get the shot, or using a flash during the ceremony

2. BCains macrumors regular

IMO an ideal lens would be the Canon 24-70 2.8 L

Another option is the Tamron 17-50mm 2.8

3. peskaa macrumors 68020

peskaa

I'd head for the 50/1.4 personally. I used to have one until I upgraded to the /1.2L, and it was lovely.

4. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

Scarlet Fever

the 85mm will give you more reach (being a ~130mm equivalent), and I've heard its a bit sharper wide open. You'll have to stand quite far back if you want to do group photos, though.

I took some pics for my cousins wedding, and the 50mm was a brilliant portrait lens for the couple when I was standing a couple of metres back, but it was fairly useless when groups of 5 or 6 got together. The 85mm can only make this situation worse.