Printer and Time capsule help needed

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Dobbs2, Aug 13, 2009.

1. Dobbs2 macrumors 6502

20" aluminum imac
    1tb dual band time capsule
    Hp C6280 all in one

I have it setup and any computer that I allow with the mac address filter to connect to my wireless network can print perfectly. I recently needed to scan some documents to my imac which is right next to the printer, but connected via wifi to my time capsule and the only options that it will allow me to do is scan it to a memory card. The printer is connected to the time capsule via usb, because I couldn't get it to recognize it via ethernet.

How can I get it to scan documents to a computer on my network, or how can I choose one computer from a list of computers connected at a given time.

How can I get my printer to connect to the time capsule via ethernet so I can free up the usb for an external hdd. The ethernet part was just plug and play on my las router in windows.

I'm a newbie and trying to get situated in my transition and trying to not make the wife kill me while she is relearning too.

Any ideas?

2. Dobbs2 thread starter macrumors 6502

3. gsahli macrumors 6502a

gsahli

I'm pretty sure the HP software won't work when you have the printer connected by USB to the TC. You need to get the ethernet connection working.

4. Dobbs2 thread starter macrumors 6502

Thats what I figured, but for some reason I can't get it to recognize it thru the ethernet port. On my old router and pc it was just plug and play and it worked.

5. gsahli macrumors 6502a

gsahli

Is it possible you just chain-connected your TC to your old router? That would mean you have the TC network enclosed/separated from the router network.

6. Dobbs2 thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks for the thought and the reply though.

That would be nice, but I traded the Netgear WNR3500 and used that as credit for the 1tb time capsule.