printhelper quit unexpectedly

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ufgatorvet, Jul 2, 2017.

  1. ufgatorvet macrumors newbie

    ufgatorvet

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    #1
    Hello -

    Just got the new 27 inch 5K base model iMac. Moved files over from old MacBook Pro.

    Every time I boot the new iMac, I get the "printhelper quit unexpectedly" error box with option for send information to Apple.

    I have re-installed the OS based on Apple's recommendations. No help. I do not have any printers set up in the Preferences Printers section.

    Apple is saying I may need to bring it to the Apple store for diagnostics, but that is 100 miles away for me.

    Thanks for any advice.


    Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 6.06.11 PM.png
     
  2. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #2
    Did you do any type of restore of system files from the old computer to the new computer? Boot into safe mode and see if the issue happens.
     
  3. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #3
    Try running EtreCheck, then post the resulting file here. That may actually flag the "printhelper", perhaps as a problem file. EtreCheck also may give you the choice to remove that printhelper directly.
     
  4. ufgatorvet thread starter macrumors newbie

    ufgatorvet

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    #4
    When I booted into safe mode it did NOT happen.

    Also, I created another (new) account on the iMac and the error does not occur when looking into the new (empty) account. It seems I "migrated" something from the old MacBook Pro (circa 2012) to the new iMac that it is barfing on.

    In my Users and Groups, there are no programs listed to open at start up for the account that the error happens.

    I compared the list of applications between the "new" account that does not have the error message and the account when the error develops, and the application list is identical....
    --- Post Merged, Jul 2, 2017 ---
    I used Migration Assistant when setting up the new iMac. Would this bring system files over? I reinstalled the OS (per Apples recommendation) and the issue still happens.

    Seems like it is a file I installed from my old MacBook via Migration Assistant.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 2, 2017 ---
    I ran EtreCheck. I have copied questionable lines below. I did not copy the entire report - very length:


    Launch Agents:
    [failed] com.adobe.ARMDCHelper.cc24aef4a1b90ed56a725c38014c95072f92651fb65e1bf9c8e43c37a23d420d.plist (Adobe Systems, Inc. - installed 2017-01-14) [Lookup]
    [not loaded]
    printhelper.plist (? c7a57074 a613363c - installed 2013-01-21) [Lookup]



    Launch Daemons:
    [loaded] com.adobe.ARMDC.Communicator.plist (Adobe Systems, Inc. - installed 2017-01-14) [Lookup]
    [loaded]
    com.adobe.ARMDC.SMJobBlessHelper.plist (Adobe Systems, Inc. - installed 2017-01-14) [Lookup]
    [loaded]
    com.adobe.fpsaud.plist (? 2afb3af7 b80332c4 - installed 2016-12-16) [Lookup]
    [runing]
    com.fitbit.galileod.plist (Fitbit, Inc. - installed 2014-10-29) [Lookup]

    **** THIS LAST ONE REFERENCING FITBIT. WHAT IS THIS? A FITBIT STARTUP APPLICATION WAS LISTED IN THE USERS & GROUPS FOR MY ACCOUNT AND I DELETED IT ****

    Thank you (sorry for the caps)
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    I think EtreCheck will sort this out.
    There are at least 6 ways that apps and files load into your Mac - LaunchAgents, Application Support, Internet Plug-ins, Input Managers, Services, Launch Daemons, etc. plus the application itself (and likely other methods that a startup item might exist in your system.) All can exist in either the user/Library, and the /Library folders (or both!)
    And, EtreCheck is the main tool of choice to help determine what you have as startup software in your system.
    For your best results, run EtreCheck while logged in to your normal account.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 2, 2017 ---
    After viewing your EtreCheck items, you appear to ask what fitbit is?
    The item listed is part of an install of the Fitbit Connect software. (fitness wearable device)
    If you have uninstalled that fitbit app, you may still have missed some items that were installed as part of that Fitbit install. Some more info here... http://www.kirkville.com/fitbit-connect-software-and-high-cpu-usage-by-galileod-process/
     
  6. ufgatorvet thread starter macrumors newbie

    ufgatorvet

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    #6
    Thanks for the suggestions.

    All this led me to /Library/Printers where there was a ton of obsolete and old printers (drivers?) listed. Anyway, I deleted all of those and rebooted and the error went away...

    I guess migration assistant brought all that stuff over...

    Thanks for the tips,
    --- Post Merged, Jul 2, 2017 ---
    I found the fitbit process too and was able to get rid of that...
     

Share This Page