Printing via Netgear Print Server

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by raindogfelix, Jul 11, 2009.

  1. raindogfelix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #1
    I have read everything I can find about configuring Macs to work with the Netgear PS121 print server. The sales rep at Best Buy said the device works with Macs and the box itself specifies Mac OS. I followed the directions to the letter to configure my Mac that I found on the Netgear site and other places (the print server had already been set up on our PC's). It worked once and never again.

    I rang Netgear technical support who said that I would have to pay premium support if I wanted help in setting up a Mac. She said she was not trained on Macs. Needless to say I believe this to be very bad support and reflects badly on the company.

    If anyone here knows how to make it work - that would be just great. I'll give until Monday and then return the product if I cannot get it to work and, given my experience of their technical support, never buy Netgear products again.

    RD
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Any time that you have problems with a peripheral, you must state the make and model of the peripheral if you expect help with it. Which printer? My guess is that you are trying to use a USB driver over the network. You should use a CUPS driver for your printer.
     
  3. Flash SWT macrumors 6502

    Flash SWT

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  4. raindogfelix thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    Printing via Netgear Print Server

    Thanks for your input 'misterme'. The printer is a Canon MP830 (Multifunction). I have no idea what a Cups driver is.

    I saw that post on Netgear's forum, Flash SWT, and that was one of the solutions I followed to the letter - still didn't work. I posted a request for help myself on that forum. Their moderator didn't publish it. Guess they did not like the critical comments about their customer services!
     
  5. milk242 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #5
  6. MTI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #6
    There are issues with certain models of the Netgear print server and multifunction printers. I believe that there's a specific model that they say works with them.
     
  7. djpruitt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    Just north of Atlanta, GA
    #7
    PS101 IP address

    I followed the link above to the instructions for adding a printer connected to a PS101 through CUPS however I have a basic question. How do I determine the IP address of the PS101 ? Since it is no longer connected to my old router and PC network I cannot discover what the IP is set to.
    I am attempting to connect a HP LaserJet5 with PS101 to my MBP17 running OS X 10.6.2 using direct RJ45 cable and not going through a router.
     
  8. gsahli macrumors 6502a

    gsahli

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #8
    Most print servers have a way to print a config page - possibly power off then back on.

    When you connect directly via ethernet, OS X doesn't receive a good IP address, and it treats ethernet as if it's down. You need to manually set up ethernet - give it a local/private IP address in the same subnet as the print server. Example - print server 192.168.3.3, Mac 192.168.3.4 - subnet mask 255.255.255.0 on both.
     
  9. gsahli macrumors 6502a

    gsahli

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    In Print & Fax, click Add (+), then select IP, then LPD, then enter IP address and queue name P1 (p-one). Now select a CUPS (Gutenprint in this case) driver. If your model isn't listed, get the Gutenprint update from:
    http://gimp-print.sourceforge.net/MacOSX.php
     

Share This Page