pro audio/thunderbolt suspicions

Discussion in 'iMac' started by turtlesongs, Apr 13, 2013.

1. turtlesongs macrumors newbie

I just bought the 2012 iMac, reluctantly, because of lack of firewire. The guy at the store assured me that the adapters provide solution. My interface is firewire 400. There are no thunderbolt - 400 adaptors. So I had to daisy-chain 400 - 800, then 800 - thunderbolt. Salesman assured me no problems. Reality suggests otherwise. First try - half volume, lost frequencies, crackles and pops. Second try, fuller volume, questionable frequency range, ... but can I trust it at all for professional work?

Any pro audio engineers our their that can attest to the reliability and professionalism of daisy-chained adaptor solution? Help!

2. Nuke61 macrumors 6502

I have no personal experience with this, but as a simple suggestion instead of using two adapters... what about TB to FireWire and then a bilingual cable?
    http://www.amazon.com/PIN-6PIN-BILINGUAL-FireWire-800/dp/B003L1AINY

3. Giuly, Apr 13, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2013

Giuly macrumors 68040

Giuly

It's completely unprofessional, get a PowerMac G4 instead.
    Seriously though, FW is digital and doesn't concern itself with analog things like volumes/amplitudes and frequencies, so there's something else wrong with your setup.

On a completely unrelated matter, FW400 has been banished from Macs for a long time, that's why you find FireWire800-to-400 adapters everywhere, after all it's just a different plug with 3 more pins.

[​IMG]

Or you skip the adapter and get it as a cable.
    [​IMG]

4. turtlesongs thread starter macrumors newbie

straight advice needed

Okay, I just heard of these 'bilingual cables' but there is still the need for one adapter which makes me uncomfortable.