Pro Photog getting into Video

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by MattSepeta, Jan 12, 2012.

1. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

MattSepeta

My day job is starting to get more and more requests for videos so we are going to be investing in some video equipment and software in the very near future. I have a few questions, mostly regarding FCP X.

I have been using FCP 7 at my old job on a daily basis with MiniDV cameras. Now that I am at a new job, we will need to buy some software and I am not sure if FCP X is right for me.

Video will be done on a 5DII (95%) and 7D, possibly with some MiniDV cams if needed.

1. I read that FCP X has built in stabilization? Does this need to render every time you make a cut? How is it applied? Is it simply a filter? How effective is it? I know that lots of DSLR video is QUITE shaky, so if this is effective it might be worth the switch alone.

2. How does FCP X play with the 5DII files? Should I still be transcoding with streamclip?

3. As a very experienced FCP7 editor, will I be able to jump right in, or is there a learning curve?

---------Non-FCP X Questions---------

-Does anyone have any experience with Magic Lantern? I am interested in the focus-peaking capabilities.

-Lights. Are there any light-kits suitable for doing interview style videos of just one person to be had for under $1k? Is this realistic? I do not know anything about continuous lights, so this is all brand new to me.

Thanks for any answers!

2. WRP macrumors 6502a

Just continue with FCP 7. I just started a new position and created the producer/editor role in a MR firm. I made them buy FCS3. It still has tons of life left in it and with all the additional software included $1000 is nothing.

Yes there is a steep learning curve with X. NLE's have worked basically the same for decades and FCP X shats all over convention.

Never used ML as I shoot with a 7D and it can't be magic lanterned.