Pro Tools i5 or i7

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Yurtal, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. Yurtal macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys was wondering if I could run something by you all.

    I am about to purchase a Macbook Pro as my primary machine, which will be used predominately for Pro tools using lots of plugins such as BFD2 and Garage band.

    Im a bit confused as to what model to buy.

    I would obviously like to save money but if its in my best interest I will fork out for the better processor:

    So Im either considering 2.4Ghz i5 or 2.66Ghz i7.

    Will the i5 be enough for audio work?

    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

    I have also posted this in the Digital Audio section :) Cheers.
     
  2. chris2k5 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #2
    I use Garageband a lot of my MBP 13 and it works fine. I am sure when I am exporting the music, it will be faster with the Core i5 but not that much faster.

    If you are looking for outright HUGE performance, go with the Core i7. To save money and get a great performing machine, the Core i5 does the job. Even the Core 2 Duo on my MBP 13 does the job just fine but I assume you want the newer tech and a bigger screen.
     
  3. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    Hmm?
    You say i5 is slightly faster than the C2D, but the i7 is much faster than the i5??
    The i5 and i7 is about 5-10% difference in speed, but they are both about 50% faster than the C2D!!
     
  4. chris2k5 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #4
    Well I meant, either way with Garageband, you'll probably won't notice the time difference it takes to convert and export the music BUT if you are looking for the best thing Apple has to offer, go with the Core i7.

    My Garageband work usually has a lot of vocal layers and instrumental layers so if you are looking at the same type of work, just wanted to let you know the Core 2 Duo can do it.
     
  5. Yurtal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for your help guys.

    I think Ill go with the i5 and save some money :) Doest appear to be too much difference between the i5 and i7 benchmarks.

    Cheers.
     
  6. Meever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #6
    Good call. You're going to be better off spending that 300 dollars on other equipments.
     
  7. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #7
    Protools runs on it's own hardware. The speed of your machine is much less important in the case of Protools. Your Mbox or 003 or HD cards will be doing most of the work. I know quite a few professional mixing and mastering studios and engineers running high end Protools HD setups on G4s.
     

Share This Page