Pro tools/Macbook external HD question

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by soldanoboy, Jan 10, 2011.

  1. soldanoboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    #1
    Hey guys,

    After problem x 1,000,000 of trying to get pro tools 8 running on my PC ive got a macbook!

    I was wondering what external HD requirements are like on a macbook for pro tools?

    Only having 2 USB sockets and no firewire what do you suggest?

    Are USB HD's possible to record too?

    Thanks guys,

    Dan
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    As USB is the fastest interface, despite the Gigabit Ethernet port, you are limited to USB 2.0, but it should be more than fast enough to record a stereo track, as PCM Stereo at 16 bit and 48 kHz only has a data rate of 192 KB/s.
    Even though USB transfers data in bursts than as a constant stream, USB 2.0 with its maximum burst speeds of approx. 35 MB/s, USB 2.0 will do.
     
  3. a1rflow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    #3
    I use a Western Digital MyBook HD (USB) to record audio from Pro Tools and it works perfectly fine. I could suggest a firewire 800 HD though to free up those USB ports (or get a USB hub).
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Seems the OP has one of those Macs were FW was left out.

     
  5. Thornewood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #5
    Me too

    I'm trying to run an MBox 2 on this MacBook and getting nowhere so far. I'm also concerned about the lack of FireWire port, but it seems that I could save audio files on the internal HD or a USB HD.
     
  6. RaMaz07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    #6
    Well I have a WD Portable HD, the 120 GB model (I don't know the Speed of the drive) and I have a late 07 MBP and I can read and record to the drive. When I bring it to some studios on there Mac Pros, it tells me it's not not fast enough and I have to save that session to another drive then Save a Copy Into my drive.

    So my answer is it depends, lol.
     

Share This Page