Pro Tools Macbook Pro Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ViciousShadow21, Mar 12, 2009.

1. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

ViciousShadow21

I had posted this as a reply to another thread but got no response. i guess it wasent an appropriate place for it. :rolleyes:

I am going to buy the 2.4ghz (with 4gb ram upgrade) or 2.66ghz MBP very soon. I am wondering the advantages of the graphic card ram difference (256mb v 512mb) and also the L2 cache difference of 6mb over 3mb?

The most rigorous application I am going to use on this is high end audio mixing and editing with Pro Tools HD.

I am a student and with the discount that i get the difference btw the two is $310.

So the question, is it worth that difference ($310) to buy the high-er end MBP over the entry-level when the most demanding application is Pro Tools HD?

2. NickM macrumors 6502

I'd say no. I have been using Pro Tools for a number of years now, but on PC.
    I recently got my first Mac, a new MacBook Pro, about 2 weeks ago.

I've always used Pro Tools LE...
    Can you even run HD on a laptop?
    I thought you had to install the HD cards to run Pro Tools HD...?

If you're familiar with eBay, I'd highly suggest going there for the computer.
    I paid $1999 for what I would have paid $2700 for through Best Buy and most other retail places...MUCH nicer than the student discount through Apple.

Definitely get the fastest processor you can, and max out the RAM.
    The doubled L2 cache will also make a difference.

3. DPA macrumors 65816

DPA

I work on a 2.4 GHz Penryn MBP with 4GB RAM and have almost no lag problems with Final Cut Studio. I don't know about Pro Tools HD but FCS is very resource demanding. One thing I have noticed is how much faster my MBP is since I upgraded the HD to a SSD. It was very expensive to do but it runs at least 4x faster. I think the 2.4 should be fine, go with the 2.66 if you can afford it but I know as a student, you probably want to save money.:)

David