problem after instaling windows on bootcamp

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MatV, Jun 19, 2007.

  1. MatV macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #1
    ok so yesterday i installed boot camp and windows on my iMac, everything went ok so after my mac rebooted when windows was installed...

    well everything is ok at the startup and than a black screen and a message saying windows miss a .dll and cant start up and i cant boot to mac...

    i would like to know what are my options and how i could do it

    thanks
     
  2. MatV thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Hold down option key and select the Mac HD when booting. Reinstall windows.
     
  4. MatV thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #4
    thanks man but i think the problem is with my windows cd... it's still messed up

    and now when i hold the option key and i can choose Windows or my OS X instalation CD because i put it in to reinstal everything... but when i arrive at the destination were to instal i dont see my HD... is it possible i accidently installed windows on my macHD :confused:

    thanks again for the help flopticalcube.

    you guyz can contact me directly at my email : therealmatv@gmail.com

    or on AIM : therealdoublev

    thanks for all your help
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    Yes, you may have installed Windows on top of your Mac partition.
     
  6. MatV thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #6
    and how can i fix that ???

    i dont care if ( or maybe i already have ) loose everything i had and have to start over with my mac but is their a solution... their must be something i can do...
     
  7. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #7
    Insert the DVD that came with you Mac. And when booting press C, this would make you boot from the DVD, and then you can re-install OS X.

    If this does not works then you can call AppleCare or go to an Apple Store.
     
  8. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #8
    Specifically, what version of Windows (XP, Vista), what level (Home, Pro), what Service Pack if XP, and what type (Upgrade, Full, OEM)?
     
  9. MatV thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
  10. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #10
    OK, as long as it was SP2, you should have no problems.

    Make absolutely sure you print & read the instructions Apple provides and follow them to the letter.

    Not sure with the current MacOS Install DVD, but on booting from it, if there's an option to abort an install first and use Disk Utility to examing the disc firs, I'd do that. otherwise, do a clean instal and start from scratch.

    Did that about five times the first weekend...
     
  11. MatV thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #11
    allright thanks i'll try that

    thanks for everything everyone...

    i'll try this one and if nothing works i'll go to the apple store tomorrow and get answers there

    thanks again for everything guyz i really appreciate
     

Share This Page