Problem Connecting External Display

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by guitardave62000, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. guitardave62000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    #1
    I have the newest 13" 2.4 ghz macbook pro and am trying to hook it up to an ASUS VH242 External Display monitor. I am using a DVI cable then a DVI to Mini Displayport adapter. I hooked everything up and the monitor says DVI no signal then goes to sleep. What's weird is when I first plug the cable into the computer my screen turns blue like it should. I've tried going into settings and hitting detect displays but that does nothing.

    Anyone have ideas?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. cmChimera macrumors 68040

    cmChimera

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #2
    Restart. Seems somewhat like the same issue I'm having with external displays. Restart with the cable still plugged in.
     
  3. guitardave62000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    #3
    I tried it twice, first time after restarting it came up with only my computer background and my mouse with no taskbar or bottom strip of applications making me think it acted like it was the secondary display. Second time it only loaded up to the blue screen it makes when the cable is being plugged in and got stuck.

    Any other ideas? I have no clue :confused:
     
  4. TheScotsman macrumors newbie

    TheScotsman

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #4
    I have a MacBook white non-pro 2.4ghz and had the same issue. Not sure this will work for you but once I had the external hooked up I had to open display properties on my mac and reduce the resolution for the external monitor and it started working, from there I up'd the res until it stopped working again, this gave me a baseline for the max resolution.

    Here's a video from my tech channel, not sure if this will help you or not but maybe will offer some insight on the process. This video will also show you how to use your external monitor with the lid of your mac closed so you don't watse your lcd lifespan. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMNLOVn8hes If this video does not help you then please let me know and I will try to do some further testing for you.
     
  5. fcortese macrumors demi-god

    fcortese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Big Sky country
    #5
    Try System Preferences>Displays>Detect Displays
     
  6. guitardave62000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    #6
    Reduce the resolution on my Macbook Pro or the Monitor? When I go to Displays under settings it doesn't recognize the screen at all so there are no settings for me to change besides the Macbook Pro resolution
     
  7. tigress666 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Washington State
    #7
    This is just on the off chance, but are you running on battery or plugged in?

    I've found my MBP (and my MB was the same way), won't send signal to a monitor if it isn't plugged in.
     
  8. guitardave62000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    #8
    Yea just tried, still nothing :(
     
  9. circularforward macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    #9
    I had a very similar problem using a mdp to DVI adapter too. It turned out that I had a faulty adapter, and I had to take it into the Apple store. The genius confirmed it wasn't working, and then I got a brand new one from the aisle.
     
  10. TheScotsman macrumors newbie

    TheScotsman

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #10
    I did it on my MB but doesn't sound like it is gonna work for you in this case.
     

Share This Page