Problem Connecting Macs over network for File sharing

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Intel Inside, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. Intel Inside macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #1
    Hi everyone, I have a problem connecting to Mac "A" (Running OSX 10.5.8) from Mac "B" (Running OSX 10.6.7).

    For example, when I'm using Mac "B" and I click on "xxx's Mac A" in the shared pane, in the sidebar in finder, it says that it has failed to connect.

    But, here's the weird thing. When i'm on Mac "A", trying to connect to Mac "B", it does connect (file sharing/screen share)

    Can someone help me connect to Mac "A" from Mac "B"

    Btw, both of the computers are on the same network, and i've also tried connecting via Finder>Go>Connect to Server>"ip address"

    Is it maybe a problem because i am using 2 different releases of OSX?

    Thanks a lot
     
  2. samx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #2
    I'm also having this exact problem! Been trying for a while to find help but no luck, hopefully someone on here knows.

    (Hi MacRumors, long time reader first time poster! Haha.)
     
  3. Intel Inside thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #3
    Hi There, Welcome to MR.

    After a few days with fiddling with the settings i figured it out!

    All you need to do is change your firewall settings (in the security pane) to either "allow all incoming connections" or "set access for specific services and applications"

    I picked the latter for obvious security reasons.

    Also if you want to file share make sure the "File Sharing" box is ticked in the sharing pane in the System Preferences. I've attached some screen grabs to help explain this!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. samx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #4
    Thanks very much! Works perfectly now!

    Cheers! :)
     
  5. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #5
    There is another thing that can cause this. Bonjour doesn't cope well with changing ip addresses. Make sure you set up your router for a long "lease" time so machines aren't getting new addresses every time they reboot. You can also set them up with static ip. I have my Macbook ip set to static as well as any printers on our network and our network attached storage. Most of the other Macs are simple dhcp but with a 7 day lease.
     
  6. samx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #6
    Yeah we all have static on our network, makes it easier to remember who is who also. :)

    Thanks r0k.
     

Share This Page