Problem hooking up new Mini to HDTV

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Jfs5, Nov 14, 2010.

  1. Jfs5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #1
    Just bought a new (mid 2010) as a media center replacing an existing mid-2007 mini.

    I have hooked it to my 1080p TV using an hdmi cable.

    My problem is that the new mini does not seem to recognize the TV at all. I don't see any option for choosing 1080p in the Display under System preferences

    No such problem with the old Mini which works flawlessly with the 1080p TV.

    Any help appreciated.
     
  2. Madd the Sane macrumors 6502

    Madd the Sane

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Huh, interesting. I would pick the highest resolution that the TV can use. :/
     
  3. Karnivore macrumors 6502

    Karnivore

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #3
    I am not in front of the Mac now but there is an option under Display Settings to "discover" a new monitor, have you tried that? Obviously you'll need a secondary monitor for that :D Also, have you tried a different HDMI cable? I assume you tried to cold boot with TV already attached as a primary monitor.
     
  4. PiroPhosphoric macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    #4
    Initialization

    I am just connecting my new 2010 MacMini Server attached to my Rotel amp and a Kuro TV.
    What I have recently discovered is that the order of initialization is the clue with this kind of problems. I have to start de Mini at the last step, then everything is OK.
    If the Mini is on when I switch to the proper entry in the Rotel or the Pioneer, then I can´t see anything on screen (I even have to hard-switch off the Kuro).

    I don´t know if you have the same problem. Try it
     
  5. Titchy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Palm City, FL
    #5
    Wow, wish I had some incite. I have a new Mini I have connected to my monitor, Viewsonic 1080 LED, 2 LG HD 1080 tv's 37" and a POS 50" Sanyo 720 and all have been great and easy to hook up. I am using Mono price HD cables about 5 bucks each and When I switch between the monitor and the TV I just put the Mini to sleep and hook it up, wake it and there it is. The HDMI was one of the big reasons I got it and I move the Mini between work and home.

    Hope you get it sorted out, mine isn't the server one just a regular mini, regular drive and 8 g ram.

    Tracy
     

Share This Page