Problem installing leopard on powermac g4

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by kabeer, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. kabeer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #1
    Okay, I have a power mac g4 sawtooth single CPU. I purchased a leopard install disk for the cheapest I could find without realising that it wasn't supported on this machine officially (I didn't get snow leopard because I knew that it only supported intel). So I inserted the disk (without modifying) and after booting to it got a kernel panic beginning with "the correct driver could not be found for this platform powermac 3,1". I then tried the open firmware hack many times and the same problem occured. I also tried the guide at (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=371302) many times even with putting in the kexts that the guide told me to if I was getting kernel panics but to no avail. I then managed to borrow my freinds intel mac and installed it to my guid partitioned 16 gb flash drive, I then cloned it to my APM partitioned other hard disk using superduper! and when booting got the same issue, I then put in the relevant kexts from the working tiger install but again to no avail
    any advice is appreciated,
    thanks
    Kabeer
     
  2. kilowattradio macrumors regular

    kilowattradio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    I think you are going to have to stick with tiger 10.4.
    :rolleyes:
     
  3. kabeer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #3
    I was afraid of that, the problem is that I spent money on the leopard install disk and as far as I am aware ios4 is not compatible with tiger
     
  4. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    You could either keep it for any other Macs you may have, or you can sell it on eBay. You won't get that much back, but its better than nothing .

    By the way, if you own a PPC macs, you might like to hang out in this forum.

    Cheers!
     
  5. kabeer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #5
  6. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #6
    Leopard is supported by G4 867mhz and up, iam sure yours is supported, there are hacks out there that let you install leopard on a g3..

    do a search
     
  7. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  8. kabeer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #8
    thanks for your advice but I have already hacked the installer but to no avail
     
  9. kabeer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #9
    Bog standard I think :-/
     
  10. kabeer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #10
    another point to add: Everyone else who tries this on this particular machine it does work for them
     
  11. kabeer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
  12. kabeer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
  13. Mike Macintosh macrumors regular

    Mike Macintosh

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Washington State
    #13
    Yep looks like your going to have to stay with Tiger mate, I am sorry to say it.
     
  14. GyroFX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
    #14
    how well does leopard play with G4s anyway? Never tired it on a G4 before
     
  15. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #15
    Its actually not too shabby. I can see why Apple didn't want it on anything slower than 867MHz though. I've got it on a 667MHz Powerbook and my 500MHz Cube. They're both running it pretty well, but it can get slow at times especially on the Cube. It does fair on on the 1GHz iMac and eMac here at home too. It runs absolutely beautifully on my 1.5GHz Powerbook.
     

Share This Page