Problem: iPhone & DataCase / Shared Devices

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by razorianfly, Aug 12, 2008.

  1. razorianfly macrumors 65816

    razorianfly

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom
    #1
    Hey, I have a slight confusing problem I hope you guys/gals can help me out with. I recently bought DataCase for iPhone. As advertised the application allows you to wirelessly sync data to your iPhone for viewing, through Apple's bonjour protocol.

    The problem is, my iPhone doesn't show under 'shared' in finder. When launching the application it reports back an IP address and an FTP address. Now, I know I can transfer files through FTP, but the whole point of buying DataCase was to have the ability to have my iPhone as a networked bonjour device. I've tried everything. My iPhone is connected to the same network as my iMac, and my iMac is connected to the same network as my iPhone. My firewall current allows all incoming connections for file sharing.

    [Edit] - I also have Finder's perference's showing Back to my Mac, Connected Servers and Bonjour Computers on the 'Sidebar' tab.

    Looks an awesome application if it works, but I'm at a loss with it at the moment. :confused:

    Cheers,
    R-Fly
     
  2. Bernie-Mac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    #2
    Same exact thing here
    :edit: Go to "Go - Network" in Finders Toolbar and it should show up
     
  3. NiroshanMan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #3
    RIP Bernie Mac :(
     
  4. Bernie-Mac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    #4
    I get that everywhere now lol, but yeah RIP man, great man and fantastic comedian
     
  5. MacMuttonchops macrumors member

    MacMuttonchops

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #5
    So here's what worked for me finally:

    Create an ad-hoc network (AirPort>Create a network).
    Connect to it on your computer.
    Connect your iPhone to it.
    Start DataCase.
    Transfer a file.
    Delete the file.
    Disconnect from that network.
    Reconnect to regular Wi-Fi on your computer and iPhone.
    Start DataCase.
    Recheck and see if it's finally working for you and shows up in the Finder like it should.

    That was the only way I could get it to work.
     
  6. higgalls macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #6
    Hey,

    I posted this in the thread for Datacase, but thought it would be good to post here as it addresses your issue:

    In finder, you need to go to the "GO" menu, and then select "Network", and you should see your phone in there.
    I have contacted the develop (who always replies my emails promptly), and he has stated that there has been experienced a bug in Leopard 10.5.4 where the Finder will not show the drive in the left-hand column under SHARED. He has stated that for some people a restart fixes it, but I haven't tested that yet.

    Hopefully it will get fixed soon - it is still an awesome app though.

    Cheers,
    Chris
     
  7. Van Wildonher macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    #7
    Did any of you guys try restarting your computer? Worked for me. :D
     
  8. razorianfly thread starter macrumors 65816

    razorianfly

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom
    #8
    Thanks to you guys I got DataCase working again!

    The fix was going to 'Go - Network' within finder. The remote volume(s) now shows up everytime in finder.

    You all totally rock. :cool:

    Cheers,
    R-Fly
     
  9. Nicholas.C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #9
    Who is berne Mac?

    edit: just wiki'd it
     
  10. Bernie-Mac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    #10
    :eek:
     
  11. higgalls macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #11
    Glad we could help :)
     

Share This Page