Problem: Quicktime has a Question Mark

Discussion in 'iMac' started by crackbookpro, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. crackbookpro macrumors 65816

    crackbookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Om nom nom nom
    #1
    Any help would be awesome...

    I have the new high-end 21.5" iMac, and I am trying to play an avi file in Quicktime. The file is coming from the Windows program 3D Max, and has an avi file which has worked on all my Macs except for my new iMac that is running Snow Leopard.

    Does anyone know if this a Snow Leopard issue or Codec problem? I have already downloaded Perian, but have had no luck in fixing my problem.

    Has anyone else experienced the '?' covering the Quicktime icon like I show in the attached pic?

    Any help would be much appreciated...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. crackbookpro thread starter macrumors 65816

    crackbookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Om nom nom nom
  3. xtend macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
  4. crackbookpro thread starter macrumors 65816

    crackbookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Om nom nom nom
    #4
    I have Perian downloaded already, but thanks anyways...

    I'm thinking SL has something to do with it... because 3 Macs work with Leopard, and 1 doesn't with SL.

    pretty confused. :confused: Hopefully, my problem is a dumb question to someone out there...
     
  5. crackbookpro thread starter macrumors 65816

    crackbookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Om nom nom nom
    #5
    Has anyone seen the question mark using quicktime? (bump)
     
  6. Mav3067 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Same Problem on Windows Box

    Hey, I don't have any news about what causes this problem, but I can tell you that I had the same problem on my Dell D620 yesterday trying to run the quicktime iMac video on the apple website. Thought my version was out of date so I updated. Still got the question mark. Thought it was something to do with our stupid corporate network until I read this post. Hope someone else can be more help.

    Cheers, Mav
     
  7. crackbookpro thread starter macrumors 65816

    crackbookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Om nom nom nom
  8. crackbookpro thread starter macrumors 65816

    crackbookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Om nom nom nom
    #8
    Does anyone know how to solve this issue of having a question mark when using Quicktime?

    I thought it was a codec issue, but now I really have no clue... maybe SL :confused:
     
  9. ma4354 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #9
    same issue!!! can't watch any online video and the QT is totally changed it sucks... i am very sure its the SL never had so many issues with leopard...

    hope some one solves this problem....


     
  10. googdot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Location:
    Aotearoa...Land Of The Long White Cloud
    #10
    I think there are some issues with Quicktime X - is that what you are using?

    Have you tried the file with QT7 or VLC?
     
  11. trsnrtr macrumors 6502

    trsnrtr

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Central Illinois, USA
    #11
    I agree about the Quicktime X thing. Snow Leopard seems to have installed it but there is a QT7 for Snow Leopard, also. Since I have the same problem, I think I'm going to give it a try.
     
  12. Thrifty1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    #12
    You may want to try this...

    Select the Quicktime app and hit Command-I to bring up it's info box. Check on the "open in 32-bit mode" (not sure of exact wording).

    This has helped me in opening up some Quicktime files under Snow Leopard.
     
  13. klrobinson999 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #13
    This happened to me today, as well..... while trying to watch one of Apple's own videos on their website! What gives, Apple??
     
  14. nicroma macrumors 6502

    nicroma

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #14
    This happens to me often on my PC with the question mark. Usually a page refresh fixes it. I have yet to see it in Snow Leopard though.
     
  15. Thrifty1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    #15
    In addition to changing Quicktime to use 32-bit mode, if you see a question mark in a webpage instead of the quicktime video, open the information box for the Safari application and click on the "open in 32-bit mode" and this sometimes fixes the problem.
     
  16. crackbookpro thread starter macrumors 65816

    crackbookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Om nom nom nom
    #16
    I downloaded the file and the 32-bit worked. Thanks, I appreciate the feedback from you & others!!!

    It definitely seems like Quicktime X causes things like this...
     

Share This Page