Problem ripping DVD using handbrake

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by aellul, Nov 2, 2011.

  1. aellul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #1
    hi all,

    i am trying to rip home made DVD's (family videos from my camcorder) using handbrake so that I can add them to my iTunes library and I have some trouble. The main issue is that the converted video file is of a leser quality than the original DVD. Is there a way to rip the DVD and convert the format without losing out on quality?

    thanks
    aldo
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Use the Apple TV preset, or the Normal preset.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #3
    You will always have a slight loss of quality when converting, even if you have an HD quality source and zero compression. Without knowing how the quality is on the DVDs and compared to the output, it's hard to give specific advice.

    But, what I always use is the standard preset, h264 codec, constant quality. If it's not to your liking, try using a smaller number on the slider that you see under the constant quality-option (smaller number = less compression and larger file).
     
  4. slothrob macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #4
    I get excellent results with aTV2 preset, Constant Quality knocked down to 19.25, Detelecine & Decomb turned on for video source (as opposed to film).

    I don't know anything about camcorders, but Decomb and Detelecine might be the solution considering it's a video source and might have been interlaced at some point. Depending on the source, I do see some minor artifacts with CQ set to 20, which seem to go away at 19 to 19.25.

    What specific quality problems are you seeing?
     
  5. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #5
    Sounds like it's not HD given that these are playable DVDs of camcorder-made home movies. DVDs cannot provide HD video...at least ones you can pop into any DVD player. (Sure, you can store HD video files on a DVD, but not any files that a typical DVD player would recognize.)

    I also would suggest the AppleTV preset. Most of my commercial DVD encodes actually look better than the originals.:eek: While there would almost certainly be some loss, you really should not notice it with an SD source like this.
     
  6. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #6
    I know, I was just making a point.
     
  7. aellul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #7
    thanks for your replies.

    in my opinion there is great loss of quality. i guess i have to play around with the options available.

    regards
    aldo
     
  8. lostless macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #8
    The "loss of quality" that I assume your are experiencing is loss of frame rate. Old home movies were interlaced which contain 60FPS of information. Each of the 30FPS contains 2 frames each. When you use handbrake and deinterlace, it throws out half of every frame dropping the frame rate to 30FPS. Currently handbrake can not make a 60P file from a DVD source.
    www.100fps.com can help you understand whats going on.
     
  9. aellul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #9
    thanks. will look at it
     
  10. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #10
    What was the original camcorder's model number?
    Those old NTSC / PAL camcorders even the hi-end ones are fairly low resolution and it'll show.
     
  11. aellul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #11
    the camcorder is a sony which records on a mini dvd. it is standard definition. the thing is that i would like to part from the mini dvd and have everything on my time capsule. i am also trying to rip movies and overall if you campare the quality, the handbrake version is of a lesser quality and less 'smooth' in motion. i must be doing something wrong i guess :(
     
  12. lostless macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #12
    You are doing nothing wrong. My handbrake encodes (movies BTW) look near identical to the original DVD. The problem is Handbrake simply can not get you the original 60FPS of motion. It has to deinterlace to 30P as the source is only 30FPS. My suggestion is to back up the VideoTS folder which is the original MPEG2 stream. You can open them by going to DVD player and choosing "open VideoTS folder".
     
  13. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #13
    I've had problems coding certain things with lower quality in Handbrake before... Try ripping the DVD to the disk (just a DVD copy, no encoding) with RipIt (ten rips are free, then you have to pay) and then use iVi (available in App Store, like three or four bucks) to encode it with. Maybe that will help?
     
  14. aellul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #14
    Thanks all. Playing around with some settings helped.
     

Share This Page