problem ripping superbad

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jkramb, Apr 2, 2009.

  1. jkramb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #1
    When I try and rip superbad to my computer is shows that is is scanning files 1-44 and than it stops after 18 seconds and it only rips the studio intro. Any ideas as to what is wrong?
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Which software are you using?

    Is the Superbad DVD from Sony?
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    Probably.

     
  4. jkramb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #4
    yes, it is sony, and I'm using Handbrake.
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    Handbrake is used for encoding.

    You first need to rip the DVD's content from the DVD and thereby removing its copy protection.
    Ripping means that it copies the whole DVD to a location you specify (on the hard drive) and removes the copy protection you encounter while trying to encode the DVD.

    MacTheRipper might do the trick: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/14414

    After you have ripped the DVD, you then use Handbrake and load the ripped content and encode to whatever you want.
     
  6. jkramb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #6
    uhhh.... handbrake rips also. I have been ripping my DVD's. I know what I'm doing, except for this one DVD that is.


     
  7. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #7
    try "open source title specific" with hb http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/SupportFAQ#titlespecificscan
     
  8. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #8
    There's a lot of bother with Sony DVDs.

    Try getting a hold of MacTheRipper 3, I've had a lot more success with that version.

    It still wouldn't rip my copy of Casino Royale, though. Sony have been purposely putting 'bad' chapters onto their DVDs to stop ripping - and in some cases it has stopped playback all together, even in conventional DVD players.

    (which is where Torrents come in handy. I own the DVD, so I don't think its so bad as 'stealing' it outright. I've already purchased the right to watch it :))
     
  9. KevinC867 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #9
    Superbad is encoded with Sony's ARccOS protection scheme. It makes it more difficult to rip DVD's by creating bad sectors on the disc.

    I don't think HandBrake, VLC, FairMount or MacTheRipper can handle these discs. RipIt might be able to read them, or you might need another tool like DVDFab or RipIt4Me.
     
  10. jkramb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #10
    that is BS. i think it makes it more likely for people to download it illegally. if we pay for a movie, we have the right to put it on our hard drive, and if i can't put it where I want it, why buy it. I don't carry around dvds with me. that's why i have a lap top.

     
  11. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #12
    Obviously not. Handbrake's primary purpose is to encode. Ripping DVDs comes secondary therefor does not get as much development or time and will not work on many of the newer DVDs.
     
  12. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1

Share This Page