Problem Switching Hard Drives

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by teerexx52, May 25, 2011.

  1. teerexx52 macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #1
    I must admit I am at a total loss for what is happening when I tried to switch Hard Drives in my wife's computer. My wife has a 2010 13" c2D MacBook Pro 2.4, 250GB. She has a 750GB Seagate Momentus 7200 spin in it. We bought her a new 2011 MacBook pro Base model I5 2.3 13". We switched the drive from the 2010 into the 2011 and it will not boot. We can get the chime and the apple logo but it will do no further. We put the Seagate back into the C2D computer and bang it boots right up no problem. I tried booting the Seagate 750 from my wife's C2D using an external enclosure and my new 15" MacBook pro i7 and it won't boot. But back in my wife's C2D it boots fine. Can anyone shed any light on this for me?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Does the older HDD from the 2010 MB have all the latest updates? It might not have the proper drivers for the 2011 MBPs yet.
     
  3. teerexx52 thread starter macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #3
    Yes, all software updates were done before the drive was switched from the C2D to the i5 computer
     
  4. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #4
    I do not believe you can do what you are trying to do. When the operating system is installed the disc is set up for that hardware, processor etc etc.

    You cannot move the drive to another system and get it to boot. You can add the drive to an existing system and get the data off but I would be surprised if it booted to the operating system.
     
  5. teerexx52 thread starter macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #5
    I agree. How can I fix this? If I take her 750GB Seagate Momentus and put it in the 2011 i5 it won't boot so how do I get that drive reformated correctly?
     
  6. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #6
    You have to boot with an install disc and reinstall the operating system.
     
  7. teerexx52 thread starter macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #7
    Can you direct me where the instructions are on how do do this? Much appreciated
     
  8. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #8
  9. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #9
    Actually, you usually can. But the i5/i7 Sandy Bridge models don't like it. Just boot from the install disc that came with the Sandy Bridge MBP and run through installation--it will install only those bits it needs and it won't touch the rest of your data. Back up first, obviously.
     
  10. teerexx52 thread starter macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #10
    Thanks. How do I boot from the disk if the i5 won't boot past the apple screen? That is where I'm confused. I do have an external thing I can put the bare bones drive in and connect it via usb? Would that help if I put the 750 into that and then using my i5 computer boot that up from disk and then reinstall os over to that 750 that way?
     
  11. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #11
    Boot from the disc means boot from the cd that can with the new computer.
     
  12. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #12
    Exactly.

    Put the desired 750 GB drive in the 13" Sandy Bridge and boot it from the OS install disc that came with the 13" Sandy Bridge. Then, just "Install" OSX. It will be WAY quicker than the 30-40 minutes it usually says, because it is just installing the bits peculiar to Sandy Bridge--mine took like 5-10 minutes IIRC.

    Hope that helps.
     
  13. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #13
    To get it to boot to the disc, insert the disc into the drive (if it's not already in there and do a hard power down by just holding the power button til it shuts off). Then push the power button to turn it on. Right after pushing power, hold down the C button to force to from the disc.
     
  14. teerexx52 thread starter macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #14
    Thanks
     

Share This Page