Problem this morning...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Beach Guy, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. Beach Guy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #1
    Woke up this morning and my keyboard, trackpad, and mouse will not work at all with my 2011 iMac. Not sure how to resolve this problem. I've never had any problem like this before, except if batteries were needed. Nothing seems to be able to connect. Thanks for any guidance anyone can provide...always appreciated.
     
  2. Mister Bumbo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
  3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    First check that Bluetooth is active...(right click symbol in the bar at the top of the screen on the right)

    If it's not active, activate it.
     
  4. Beach Guy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #4
    Yes, all are wireless. I should have posted that... I just connected an old mouse and that works properly. I then went into check the Bluetooth settings on my iMac. It looks like all of my devices are discoverable, but red dots next to each device are showing them not connected. Thanks...
     
  5. Beach Guy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #5
    I went into my Bluetooth preferences. There is a box to check which is labeled 'on'...but when I click it, it won't stay checked. I see all of my Bluetooth devices listed, but still not connected. Mwhatever happened, it happened during the night w/o the computer being used by anyone. I even tried turning the bluetooth off, it won't allow me to do that either.
     
  6. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #6
    Try A PRAM re-set following the instructions below:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US
     
  7. Beach Guy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #7
    Ok, gonna try to reset my PRAM. I'll have to find a USB keyboard because my wireless one won't work. Is there any way to reset the PRAM w/o having to press the keys as per the instructions you provided? Probably not, but I figured I'd ask before I go looking for a keyboard...thanks!

    Now, i'm thinking back to last night when I was editing a project using FCP X. My activity monitor was showing that my RAM was pretty much all being used with only fcp x running. That usually doesn't happen. I upgraded to 16gb of ram a few months ago...since I did that, fcp x has been working fantastically. Mast night was the first sign that something was up.
     
  8. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #8
    No, you need the wired keyboard to do it.
     
  9. Beach Guy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #9
    Thanks for the help...all is good once again!
     

Share This Page