Problem video

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by mic j, Mar 20, 2012.

  1. mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #1
    I have recoded a blu ray using the high profile/web optimized setting of Handbrake. It plays like a champ on the aTV3. I have also encoded The Tree of Life dvd using the high profile/web optimized setting and it won't load into the aTV3 at all. Plays fine in iTunes. Both files located on the same drive. Does anyone have any suggestions as to the source of the problem?
     
  2. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    a bit more specific info about the troublesome file might help.
    ie resolution, bitrate etc

    play the file in quicktime and open "movie inspector" - post the results.
     
  3. mic j thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #3
    I have attached media inspector info. Hope that helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    only difference, apart from the resolution etc is that ToF is using High@L3.0 whereas Thor is using High@L4.0
     
  5. mic j thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #5
    After posting on the Handbrake forum, the thought is that it might be the final step in the process of adding metadata to the mp4 using Subler. I'll be checking that out today. I have had this movie playing fine using the iPad 2 preset and no Subler step.
     
  6. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    it would be strange if it was Subler causing the issue.
    i use Subler with almost every file and never had it cause an issue.
     
  7. mic j thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #7
    Well, either I did something wrong or it had a hiccup. I re-ran the file through Subler and everything is fine now.

    ----------

    Since you are obviously experience with Subler. Maybe you would be kind enough to explain something to me. I don't understand the "enable" check marks. If I add a track, say subtitles, but don't enable it, then save the file, will the subtitle track be in the saved file? Also, the app seems to enable some tracks but not others when I open a file. Why are certain things enable and other not (like chapters)? Thanks for your help.
     
  8. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I only every have the video track and the stereo track "ticked" or "enabled".
    the DD5.1, chapter, subs etc remain "unticked".

    I believe it is setting the default tracks, and for the appletv you need to have the stereo track set as the default.

    [​IMG]

    Also, be sure to use the newest beta version (0.15), as it adds the new HD tags (720p or 1080p) for AppleTV3 support.
     
  9. mic j thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #9
    Well, I had been "enabling" everything.:eek: I have to wonder if doing that caused some sort of conflict with the aTV and that's why the file would not load. But anyway, thanks, good info. I will keep that in mind when using it in the future.
     
  10. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    i know for sure that enabling both the stereo and dolby tracks caused an issue with a previous appletv software release (in that the file stopped playing when digital audio was set to "on" or "auto" on the appletv).

    unticking dolby and re-saving the file solved the problem.
     

Share This Page