Problem when I tried restoring 1.0.2

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by dappycappy, Oct 28, 2007.

  1. dappycappy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #1
    So I was trying to restore 1.0.2 - I did the thing where you hold shift, hit restore, and find the file.

    Everything seemed like it was going good but at the end now I get an error message

    "The iPhone could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (1013)"

    After I hit 'ok' on the error message I get this message

    "iTunes has detected an iPhone in recovery mode. You must restore this iPhone before it can be used with iTunes"

    Any help is appreciated

    Cheers.
     
  2. akophone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    #2
    Disconnect your phone and turn it off. Quit iTunes. Turn your iPhone on, plug it in your computer and launch iTunes. Restore with option click and select the software update file "iPhone1,1_1.0.2_1C28_Restore.ipsw". If you get the same error with the "Connect to iTunes" in your iPhone, hold the home and sleep button at the same time, turn the phone back on and repeat process.

    This happened to me last night and with persistence, it eventually took it. (BTW, my phone was never unlocked). Hope this helps.
     
  3. dappycappy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
  4. AppleSJ511606 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    #4
    I can tell you that if you forced it into recovery mode (holding sleep & home until you see the triangle) and tried restoring it that way you'll get errors.

    That's the only way I think you got to where you are. Anyways, one way I know you can get out of it is if you try to install installer.app.

    It will try to install but error out. However it will take your iPhone out of recovery mode.

    It should work.
     
  5. dappycappy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #5
    Thanks but how do I go about doing that?

    When I turn on my iPhone all it says is connect to itunes
     
  6. dappycappy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #6
    Actually I think I installed it but now my phone says for emergencies only - is that normal? (I bought the phone unlocked)
     
  7. AppleSJ511606 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    #7
    google installer.app(I'm on my iPhone), download, and try to install AS it is connected to your computer. I don't think having iTunes open would be an issue.
     
  8. dappycappy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #8
    I did that and now it says only for emergencies and it won't connect to itunes..am I missing something?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page