Problem with Airport time capsule and time machine

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by vix2000, Apr 28, 2017.

  1. vix2000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #1
    Just moved to BT and upgraded to fibre. I'm trying to set up my Airport time capsule to create backups for my macbook (2015) running sierra, via time machine. I have tried for hours and hours. The ATC is showing up in finder but will not connect. I have the ATC hardwired to the BT hub and in bridge mode. I am worried that there are settings I should be changing either in the ATC on the BT hub. I have resorted to setting up a folder on my NAS for time machine temporarily until I can get this sorted, and, ironically, this is working fine!!!. Any help would be gratefully received.
     
  2. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #2
    You should be able to use the time capsule over wireless without it being connected to the BT hub...

    Anyway, have you tried resetting the time capsule using Airport Utility?
     
  3. vix2000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #3
    thanks for the reply. i was trying to use it to extend the network, hence putting it in bridge mode. ideally I would have put the bt hub in brige and used the ATC, as i believe its a superior modem, but didnt have the knowledge to do it. but thats why its connected.
     
  4. Shus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    #4
    Hello All

    Sorry if this issue was addressed already. I have a time capsule which I peformed a hard reset on, after which I changed the network name. The problem is that I can no longer view the files that I stored on the time capsule disk.. even if I can see the TC on clicking it won't open anything as it keeps saying disk not connected! The reset was a success and all devices are connected to the internet via the TC the Mac even backs up successfully. What am I missing?
     
  5. davidmartindale macrumors member

    davidmartindale

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Location:
    PNW, USA
    #5
    AirPort Time Capsule is a great router. Reset using reset button on back. Set up in AirPort Utility to create a network.
    If you run into issues contact Apple Support and they can get it working pretty quickly for you.
     

Share This Page