Problem With App Store Updates?

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by bassanoclapper, Dec 20, 2010.

  1. bassanoclapper macrumors 6502

    bassanoclapper

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Anyone else having a problem with App Store Updates today?

    I have at least 2 apps that I never update and whatever has been updated over the weekend which should be showing but are not.
    iMac, iPhone & iPad all say "No updates are currently available". Weird
     
  2. superhighsen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #2
    Same Issue

    I have this same exact problem and have no idea how to fix it without restoring or updating my phone. I know for a fact I have 4 updates that are not done but earlier today my app store started telling me that "All apps are up to date" when I know they are not. If someone can tell us how to fix i'd appreciate it.
     
  3. bassanoclapper thread starter macrumors 6502

    bassanoclapper

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #3
    If you know an app has an update available, you can download and it will know you have already purchased. Managed to update Angry Birds HD this way

    Frustrating though. For me, it's not just devices but my desktop too. Must be account linked
     
  4. ejfontenot macrumors 6502

    ejfontenot

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    I am having the same problem. I wonder how widespread this is. Nothing in the blogosphere...
     
  5. Dkyzar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #5
    Well, it's happening to me too. Thought it might be a regional thing but I see it's happening in London and Indiana and I'm in Louisiana. No updates on the iPad, but iPhone showing updates.

    Anyone else have a jail broken device? Just trying to see if we have something in common.
     
  6. ejfontenot macrumors 6502

    ejfontenot

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    Jailbreak here...I am actually in TX...haven't updated my profile since the move. But since London is thrown in, regional is doubtful.

    Its not just my iOS devices either. Nothing on my laptop is showing as needing updates.

    Installous is showing some apps that need to be updated.
     
  7. Dkyzar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #7
    Hmm. We will have to see if the person that says London is really in Mississippi... Hehehe.

    My jail broken iPhone is still showing updates for app store. Will have to check the PC to see about updates.

    I wanted to update the sling player for iPad that I bought legit, but it doesn't show the new update. Installous has the newest, but I didn't want to get it from there afraid that it would then make me get every update for Slingplayer bought app from there. Any experience with this?
     
  8. ejfontenot macrumors 6502

    ejfontenot

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    I have updated purchased apps with hacked apps and then subsequently downloaded the next update in iTunes. It usually happens that my laptop always gets the purchased update and my phone gets the hacked update, then when I sync them, the stars align.
     
  9. Dkyzar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #9
    Great, so now when I goto installous, the right hand window is black and all I see are the categories to the left. I did update installous last night, but it worked fine after that.

    Guess I'll try a restart when I can get to a pc to tether.
     
  10. Dkyzar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #10
    Ok installous starting working again after an orientation change.

    As for the updates, the PC is all of a sudden saying no updates when before it had 6.

    Let's troubleshoot a little more while we wait. Has anyone had any dealings with apple support recently? I have. Regarding an app that I thought wasn't showing an update, but it was because my iPhone was still 4.0 and not 4.1.

    Just grasping at straw. Doing a google search on this it seems like it has happened in the past. Lots of posts from 2008 and 2009 about it. Seems like at that time it just started working again in the few threads I read.

    Anyway, guess we will just have to wait and see.
     
  11. ejfontenot macrumors 6502

    ejfontenot

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
  12. superhighsen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #12
    Same here. My app store works perfectly again and I see every single update. Could of just been a bug but hopefully nothing else.
     
  13. bassanoclapper thread starter macrumors 6502

    bassanoclapper

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #13
    It's London, UK and my updates are back too. A lot of them :)
     
  14. Dkyzar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #14
    Same here.

    Just a glitch in the system I guess.
     
  15. superhighsen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
  16. Dkyzar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #16
    Mine are still working. I'm sure it's probably another temporary interruption.
     
  17. John Benitez macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #17
    I don’t have any problem with apps store updates and I agree with Dkyzar that if there are problem with some of you guys so maybe it was an interruption of any maintenance.
     
  18. Dkyzar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
  19. wyneken macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Location:
    The great State of Maine
    #19
    For a few days around Xmas, Apple freezes the app store -- no new additions (hence no updates), no change in rankings or favorability ratings, no new "New and Noteworthy," etc.

    I believe the reason for this freeze is that the app store (and Apple's servers in general) get flooded by all the new users opening their Xmas iGifts and rushing online at once to register them, install the latest iTunes, look for help, and download billions of apps. The freeze should be lifted soon -- I think I may have read Dec 28. If updates start appearing, that suggests that the thaw has begun. I don't know if it happens all at once or gets sort of phased back in as the server load slacks off.
     

Share This Page