Problem with B&W Power Mac g3...

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by 630CD, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. 630CD macrumors newbie

    630CD

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    #1
    I was using my power tower as usual, and today after double clicking on an icon, the watch cursor appears, and the computer freezes. It is running os9 I think. :apple:
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    You may get more/better answers in the PowerPC section of the forums with this problem. If you want to move your thread there, click the triangle report icon on your first post and ask that your thread be moved to the PowerPC section.

    I'm not that good with Mac OS 9 anymore, but have you tried starting it up with the extensions off?
     
  3. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #3
    Hopefully, pushing the reset button can make it boot up successfully.

    If the problem ONLY occurs with the same icon, then it's software related (corrupted or incompatibility).

    Otherwise, it could be a few things.

    1. poor connectivity on RAM modules

    2. poor connectivity on video card

    3. poor connectivity on CPU card.

    4. failed/failing HD or bad blocks on HD.

    5. other - unknown.

    To test the poor connectivity, boot the machine whilst holding down the shift key. You should see "Welcome to Macintosh" - "Extensions Disabled".

    Wait until the computer finishes booting and no more HD seeking sound is heard.

    Alternatively, if possible, boot up from a MacOS 8 or 9 CD.

    Now, move the mouse and observe the mouse pointer on the screen. Continue to move the mouse in a constant circular motion, and gently rock each module from side to side. If the mouse pointer freezes on the screen, you'll need to clean the memory module's contacts, and possibly the socket's contacts.

    Some mild contact cleaners can do the job, but the problem may return. Alcohol wipes (without any additives) can help.
     
  4. 630CD, Aug 28, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2012

    630CD thread starter macrumors newbie

    630CD

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    #4
    I'm pretty sure its bad blocks on the HD. I went to save a game of Sim City 2000, and it said ***ERROR*** Could not save game. And then something about blocks. I didnt know what it ment at the time. So, is it fried?:eek:
     
  5. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #5
    Hard drive

    Hard drive is probably on the way out, not bad for a twenty year old computer.
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Blue and white PowerMac G3's are only 13 years old. A new hard drive shouldn't be too hard to find. They take standard IDE/PATA hard drives. Just make sure you get one that is 137GB or smaller. They don't have LBA-48 support that enables them to read hard drives bigger than that.
     
  7. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #7
    Be aware that if you have a REV 1 motherboard, some HDs have a data corruption issue.

    The ATA chip on the Rev 1 board is known to have issues and not just on the B&W G3. If the CMD 646 chip does NOT have "-402" on it, it's the REV 1.

    It seems that the original plain CMD646 does not play well with UDMA transfers.

    The chip sits behind the PCI slots near the rear of the machine.

    See point 3 at this URL to locate the chip:
    http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/g3-zone/yosemite/newfeatures.html
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page