Problem with custom ringtones.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Redneck1089, Oct 18, 2007.

  1. Redneck1089 macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #1
    I'm trying to do the free ringtone "hack" where I change te file extension. I'm using iTunes 7.4.1. I edited the Guns N' Roses song "There Was A Time" down to 25 seconds in Garage Band, exported it to the desktop, changed the file extension to .m4r, opened iTunes, and then went to the iTunes Ringtone folder and changed the extension back to .m4a. When I plug the iPhone in it says the ringtone is available to sync, so I sync it. What happens is I'm not getting any sound when someone calls me. I don't understand why. I followed the instructions, yet something must be going wrong...

    Anyone have any thoughts?
     
  2. D1G1T4L macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
  3. Redneck1089 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #3
    It's an unlocked 1.0.2.
     
  4. Redneck1089 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
  5. fj2007cruiser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    #5
    I gave up doing it like that. It is hit and miss and no guarantees, so I reverted my iphone back to 1.0.2. Not unlocked ... just jailbreaked.
    I use itoner with my mac and never had any issues. I even converted Sweet Child of Mine to a 20 sec ringtone and it sounds great. Never missed making a ringtone using itoner. For PC try using iphoneringtonemaker. It has a 3 use trial so at least you can make 3 tones and add fades ...whatever. These methods work very nicely vs wasting time with .m4a and .m4r where the tone would transfer but NEVER play.
     
  6. Redneck1089 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #6
    Man, I was so stoked about having "There Was A Time" on there. :(

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page