Problem with cutting and pasting in office.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by MacNewb-e, Sep 4, 2013.

  1. MacNewb-e macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    #1
    I have a similar problem where paste will paste something other than what I just copied or cut. I can do a "Paste and Match Style" in some applications and get do get what was copied, but I'll lose all of the source formatting. Not sure if it's a problem with Office for Mac 2011 (which is what I use most of the time when I notice this happening) or the Mac in general.
     
  2. palmharbor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #2
    copy past

    The Copy/Paste function has not been improved since around 1996 that was 17 years ago, when a hard drive in a powerbook with 150 Megabytes and the processor operator ran at 30mhz. Often in 10.8 you try to copy some text and the mac will put out an icon of a hand and you cannot copy it. Apple is more interested in helping you add more monitors to your mac and other esoteric issues rather than improve basic functions.
    You are stuck with what you have. Sorryhttp://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/blackapple.gif
     
  3. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #3
    How do you Copy? Menu with the mouse, or Keyboard shortcut? If the latter, the problem could be the keyboard/

    By the way, MacNewb-e, how's that screen name gonna work for you in 2027? ;)
     
  4. MLinneer macrumors regular

    MLinneer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Location:
    Sherman, TX
    #4
    I often copy/paste text for research from the web to a notes doc in Word or sometimes Evernote. Safari, Firefox, and Chrome all handle text differently and I always have to edit it for consistency. Personally, I found Firefox to handle it best, copying formatted text almost exactly the way it appears in the browser. Chrome will convert bulleted text to numbered bullets, and Safari will almost always double the font size and change it to Times.

    I remember reading an article a few years back about how Mac OS and different apps handle copy/paste functions. There's a copy buffer and a clipboard API, and different apps will handle it differently depending on the method they use.
     
  5. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    I'm afraid it's a known bug in Office for Mac....The MS boards have numerous posts about it...I have Office because I have to, and rarely use it these day's preferring Pages if I'm communicating with a Mac equipped client.
     

Share This Page