Problem With EDGE on iPhone

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by cronin4392, Apr 4, 2008.

  1. cronin4392 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #1
    hello,
    i used ziphone version 3.0 to unlock and jailbreak, or "Do it all". everything seemed to work but i cant get EDGE to work, or youtube.
    what i did was download the ibrickr fix so i could view the phones files, and then i viewed the files with googles iPhoneBrowser. i then follow these instructions:
    http://jbwebdev.com/blog/want-edge-on-your-t-mobile-iphone/
    after i do those i get a message that tells me that i dont have EDGE which im almost 100% i do. i have the 19.99 tmobile all internet plan. i also installed the youtube fix through installer, but that didnt work either.

    i just need some one to tell me how to do all these things in one article because i keep having to jump around looking at different ones to do different things.
     
  2. cronin4392 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #2
    EDIT:
    the only way i can get internet service on it is by going to settings->General->Network->EDGE,
    then changing APN to internet2.voicestream.com no user no PW.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    All that stuff in the linked post is about people who hack their iPhone to use the $6 plan that T-Mobile offers for WAP phones (not meant for this purpose). Once you're paying for the $20 plan, you don't need to do any of that.

    For whatever reason, some people seem to get internet.voicestream.com to work, some people internet2.voicestream.com, and some people wap.voicestream.com. Never a username or PW. Yeah, but it doesn't seem to matter much once you have it working. Glad it is now.
     
  4. hamproof macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #4
    At least no one jumped on the bandwagon on the first sign claiming ziphone broke his phone.

    My understanding is you still need to put in the APN info, internet, internet2, wap.voicestream.com coz' the iPhone was meant to work out the box with ATT Edge not TMO.

    I believe ATT folks do not even get to see the EDGE panel for entering.

    So, regardless of whether you are on the $5.99 (some folks are still paying $3.99!!), $9.99 or $19.99, you still have to put in the APN info for EDGE.
     
  5. larissa.berger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    #5
    Help with EDGE features?

    Hi Guys!

    Can someone help me to find the way to add EDGE option on iPhone?
    Settings => General => Network => ?
    After I saw this video I realize this option is missing on my phone:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkUkdSnEkqA

    PLEASE someone help me:confused:
    Thanks Larissa
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    So there is no EDGE menu in that location for you? What *is* in that location? What version of the iPhone firmware do you have?
     
  7. hamproof macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #7
    I read the EDGE setting option will only appear for incompatible SIM card carrier. So, if you are using ATT SIM, the EDGE option will not appear.
     

Share This Page