Problem with girlfriend's 3GS

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dontwalkhand, Apr 17, 2012.

  1. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #1
    My girlfriend bought a 3GS from Amazon, that was unlocked to use with her AT&T GoPhone account.

    LIke an idiot that I was, I just went ahead and restored the phone, as we didn't care about the unlock on it, since we were planning to use it with AT&T anyway. The iPhone wouldn't activate, and the SIM Card taken out doesn't even generate a "No SIM" Message. It is as if the SIM Card reader is screwed up.

    WHEN IT DID WORK, it was on iOS 4 (We restored it because there was a problem with the microphone ALREADY RIGHT OFF THE BAT, hoping that a restore would fix the thing).

    It is still under warranty with Apple, and I restored it with Apple firmware, as we don't care about jailbreaks or unlocked. I only bought this for her from Amazon with the anticipation of using it with an AT&T SIM, and the jailbroken/unlocked ones were the lowest priced.

    Now I want to go get this phone swapped out under AppleCare. How do I go about doing this? How do I remove all traces that we tried to get this thing to work? It is now on iOS 5.1 and wouldn't work. Because we BOUGHT the thing jailbroken, is there a way to remove all traces of it so we can take it into Apple? Would Apple reject us because we are trying to use it with a prepaid SIM card (even though it is an AT&T one)?

    It looks like I have to return this phone to the seller and pick her up an iPhone 4 if anything. I just hate seeing her so disappointed as she was so excited to get the phone. Not also happy about being out $200 for a paperweight.
     
  2. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #2
    Apple shouldn't reject you based on the contract you signed with a completely different company. Regardless, you can probably fix this problem yourself using Redsn0w to reflash the iPad BB that's likely on your device. Search the Hacks subforum for instructions. Also, check out iclarified.com for tutorials and downloads of necessary programs and firmwares.

    To answer your other question, a DFU restore as new would wipe all data from the device.
     
  3. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #3
    You do NOT need to unlock to use the AT&T Go Phone plan. You don't even need to unlock to use the Straight Talk prepaid plan if you chose the AT&T option. Reason is they are still both AT&T.

    Also I highly recommend staying away from the iPad base bands now that AT&T is offering some unlocks.

    My last three iPhones were all locked to AT&T on Go Phone prepaid. All you need is to change the APN to get data.

    Just plain restore it and select As a new iPhone, this removes all traces of jailbreak and misconfiguration problems. If this doesn't work make a genius appointment, they don't care about the Go Phone part and they won't be able to tell if it was jailbroken.
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    What you said doesn't make sense because in reality, prices for unlocked phone > price for locked phones.

    It seems that you tried to JB and screwed up.

    However, just go to Apple Store, and they'll probably just swap it.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    If it has the ipad baseband installed they probably wont swap it or touch it.
     
  6. dontwalkhand thread starter macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #6
    Is there a way I can make it so they wouldn't know about the iPad baseband? I bought it like this from Amazon....I'm out $200 now?
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Unfortunatelly you cannot hide the baseband.
    They can see it as soon as they plug it in to their diagnostics test.
    Give it a shot anyway, worst thing that can happen is they will say no.
     
  8. dontwalkhand thread starter macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #8
    They ended up replacing the phone anyway when we demonstrated we wanted to use it on AT&T. Crisis averted! *phew*
     
  9. jimbo23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    #9
    what did you say when you talked to them?

    im in the same situation as op and reaaaallly would like to get it working. can you guys give me a little more info on the baseband tricks? i'm a little confused with the baseband stuff
     
  10. dontwalkhand thread starter macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #10
    I just went into Apple and told them the truth (not about the JB), but in my case I bought the thing unlocked and JB already, but we had the intent on using it with AT&T.

    We told the genius we didn't know what was going on when we updated it (even though I knew it was because there was an iPad baseband on the 3GS...but I didn't find out until after I updated the phone).

    NOT only that but the microphone was broken on the new (to us) iPhone so Apple should have replaced it either way.
     

Share This Page