Resolved problem with gridlock - fix on last post

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Missjenna, Mar 28, 2013.

  1. Missjenna, Mar 28, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2013

    Missjenna macrumors 6502a

    Missjenna

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #1
    For whatever reason, Whenever I have gridlock installed, my iphone 5 6.1.2 will not exit out of safe mode.

    I only have the following tweaks installed.

    activator
    gridlock 2.0
    icleaner
    mobile substrate
    multiiconmover
    notifier +
    unlimtones
    winterboard
    zeppelin


    Anyone have an idea why it is doing this? any solution? Thanks.
     
  2. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #2
    The usual solution is to remove your most recent tweaks until the safe mode stops.
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    Are you using Gridlock or Gridlock 2.0?

    Gridlock is iOS 5.x and below. Gridlock 2.0 is the version compatible with iOS 6.x. Gridlock 2.0 is a paid upgrade, so if you bought the original Gridlock you'll have to purchase 2.0 to use it on iOS 6.x.
     
  4. IrishVixen macrumors 68020

    IrishVixen

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #4
    FWIW: Assuming Gridlock 2.0 is up to date--it's *probably* not one of these conflicting, since I also have them all on my iP5 & haven't had a safe mode issue since the first few days of Gridlock's release (the most recent update even fixed my FolderEnhancer conflicts):

    activator
    mobile substrate
    multiiconmover
    winterboard

    Try uninstalling the others one at a time, perhaps, and/or sending mail to chpwn via Cydia. The couple of times I've done that, I've had a response within a day or so.
     
  5. Missjenna thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Missjenna

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    Up until I installed Flex, it was working just fine. I removed flex, but i'm still having the same problem. I'll go through and delete stuff one by one now.

    ----------

    in my original thread, I said gridlock 2.0.
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    Sorry. Should have read down lower. My apologies. No idea what is going on. I have Gridlock 2.0 and am experiencing no problems.
     
  7. Missjenna, Mar 28, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2013

    Missjenna thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Missjenna

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    Notifier+, Zeppelin, Unlimtones, icleaner and multiiconmover have all been removed. Activator and Winterboard have been reinstalled. I am still having this problem.

    I'll go ahead and try sending a crash report to chpwn.
     
  8. IrishVixen macrumors 68020

    IrishVixen

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #8
    Any idea if there were any dependencies that Flex installs that were perhaps left behind when you uninstalled? Beyond that, I'm stumped. Your best bet if you really want Gridlock to work may be just to send mail. Hopefully he's seen this before and can give you a fix. Do post if you figure this one out--Flex is interesting to me, but not at a cost of losing Gridlock.
     
  9. Missjenna thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Missjenna

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    Honestly I can't remember what dependencies it installed if any. This all started sunday night I believe and haven't had a chance to mess with it until now since I've been working long hours at my new job.
     
  10. Missjenna, Mar 28, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2013

    Missjenna thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Missjenna

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #10
    So i've removed all unused dependencies with icleaner and mobileterminal, but the problem still persists. I took the time to type up the entire list of what i have installed in cydia (New tweaks added this afternoon, and all things in expert mode) Maybe that will help?

    appinfo
    apr (/usr/lib)
    apt 0.6 transitional
    apt 0.7 (apt-key)
    apt 0.7 https method
    apt 0.7 strict
    apt 0.7 strict (lib)
    base structure
    berkeley DB
    big boss icon set
    bitesms
    bolt
    boover
    bourne-again shell
    bzip2
    color keyboard
    core utilities
    core utilities (/bin)
    crash reporter
    cURL
    cydia installer
    cydia translations
    darwin tools
    debian packager
    debian utilities
    diff utilities
    evasi0n 6.0-6.1.2
    find utilities
    gawk
    gettext
    GNU privacy guard
    grep
    gzip
    icleaner
    iphone firmware (/sbin)
    less
    libhide
    libstatusbar
    lucid HD
    lzma utils
    mobile substrate
    mobileterminal
    multiiconmover
    ncmusicgestures
    new curses
    notifier+
    openSSL
    pam (apple)
    pam modules
    pcre
    pincrush
    preferenceloader
    profile directory
    readline
    sed
    shell-cmds
    springtomize 2
    springtomize2-icons
    springtomize2 localizations
    substrate safe mode
    system-cmds
    tape archive
    uikit tools
    unlimtones
    weeloader winterboard
    wp7ck-popups
    wp7ck-white
    zeppelin

    EDIT: I've removed everything, and I have the same problem. My guess is that it's somewhere in the root file system now.
     
  11. Missjenna thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Missjenna

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    Fixed!

    I've finally got gridlock working again. Hopefully this fix will help anyone else with this problem.

    Someone had suggested that I download an older version of gridlock and install that. I found gridlock 2.0.2, downloaded that and followed these instructions to manually install the .deb.

    1. Download iFunbox
    2. Download desired (.deb) file to your desktop
    3. Run iFunbox and connect your iOS (iPhone, iPod or iPad)
    4. iFunBox will show your device contents, Now navigate to var/root/Media/
    5. Create the folder Cydia/AutoInstall (if not already created)
    5. Move (.deb) file from your desktop to var/root/Media/Cydia/AutoInstall
    6. Reboot your iOS
    7. YOU ARE DONE

    Once the reboot was finished, my iphone wasn't in safemode YAY! But gridlock wasn't working yet. I realized that it hadn't installed any dependencies, So I went ahead and upgraded gridlock, and downloaded the needed dependencies. Once it resprung, I was in safemode again :( So I removed gridlock ONLY, then followed the instructions above again to install gridlock 2.0.2 (newest version on cydia is 2.0.3) And when it resprung it was working just fine.
     
  12. Eclipse538 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    #12
    Jesus hell - i didnt pay that much cash for his tweak to have to do this sheet, this is plain ridiculous - i just want it to work - i hate being that person who wants their money back but ******** a this route sounds like a load of sheeeeettt!!
     
  13. Missjenna thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Missjenna

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #13
    Check your PMs :)
     

Share This Page