Problem with iMac 27 mid 2015

Discussion in 'iMac' started by limbov, Jun 18, 2017.

  1. limbov macrumors newbie

    limbov

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    #1
    Hi.
    I bought iMac mid 2015 27" and computer is lagging a lot. My brother iMac from 2009 is more smoth...
    All I already done :
    -Reinstall system
    - erase harddrive
    -first aid hard drive


    This is my first time with apple computer.
    Any ideas what's wrong with it?
     
  2. casperes1996 macrumors 68030

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #2

    Could you send me an spx file? A basic one will do, I don't need any personally identifiable info.
     
  3. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #3
  4. casperes1996 macrumors 68030

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #4

    On a new 2015 iMac? Unlikely?

    I'll help with diagnostics.

    To get me the spx file, run the following in the Terminal app


    "system_profiler -xml -detailLevel basic > ./Desktop/Computer.spx"

    It'll create an spx file on your desktop called Computer with the info I'll need to check your system (no personal data)
     
  5. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #5
    Probably unlikely. But it could be a few years old depending on when they bought it. Regardless the diagnostic only takes a second. Worth verifying the HDD's OK and then working backwards from there. Should make troubleshooting easier.
     
  6. casperes1996 macrumors 68030

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #6
    Sure, but no older than 2015 for sure, making it rather unlikely. A basic SMART test should not take long, sure, but an extended one could take 15 minutes on 1TB and up to an hour on 3TB or even longer. It's worth verifying sure, but it would not be my first troubleshooting step.
    Regardless, sure, the OP probably should check just to be certain
     
  7. limbov thread starter macrumors newbie

    limbov

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    #7
    Hi casperes1996,

    The uploaded file does not have an allowed extension.

    I can make some screenshot if you want
     
  8. casperes1996 macrumors 68030

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #8
    Sure. That'll work.

    Hardware, Storage, Memory, Graphics, Software/Extensions and Diagnostics should be enough to get an overview.
     
  9. limbov, Jun 21, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2017

    limbov thread starter macrumors newbie

    limbov

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    #9
  10. casperes1996 macrumors 68030

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #10

    Usually, the delete function on Macs uses cmd+backspace, but the actual delete button is mapped to FN+backspace. If your app, i.e. Lightroom, is set to use an actual delete button, it's FN+backspace. But standard Mac behaviour is cmd+backspace.
    On Apple Extended keyboards, there are delete keys :)
    --- Post Merged, Jun 21, 2017 ---

    So, first off, I have some bad news. Those specs are of a late-2014 iMac
    Admittedly they were sold up till late 2015, not mid-2015, but I didn't remember that at the time ;)

    Anyway, could I also get you to send screenshots from the "top" command in Terminal? Activity Monitor does the same, but instead of cycling between CPU, Memory, etc. top shows it all at once.

    Oh, and do this at a point in time when it is lagging (assuming it doesn't do it all the time).

    PS. You can take a screenshot of just an app or a section, using cmd+shift+4 (Spacebar thereafter if you want full app selection)
     
  11. Taz Mangus, Jun 21, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2017

    Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #11
    Could be related to what you have installed on your computer.

    Do you have any anti-virus software installed?
    What is listed in /Library/LaunchAgents?
    What is listed in /System/Library/StartupItems?
    What do you have in your user account LoginItems?

    As an experiment, create a new partition on your internal hard drive. Install a clean copy of 10.12.5 on the new partition and don't restore anything from the current boot partition. Boot to the new partition and see if the lag issue still happens. When you are done reboot back to your primary partition and delete the new partition.
     
  12. casperes1996 macrumors 68030

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #12

    That was my first thought, but the OP said it persists after reformatting and reinstalling the OS
     
  13. Taz Mangus, Jun 21, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2017

    Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #13
    What is not clear is if the OP is restoring anything from backup or leaving the machine clean after install. I suspect that the OP has reinstalled other things, you can see that from the pictures that were posted.
     
  14. limbov thread starter macrumors newbie

    limbov

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    #14
    I dont understand which one is the "top" one ,could you send me SS from yours ,that would be easier to find.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. casperes1996 macrumors 68030

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #15

    Top is a command in the Terminal. Open the Terminal app, and write the word "top" then hit enter
     
  16. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #16
    Open finder and show what is under the root ("/") not the user account. Do you have any anti-virus software installed?
     
  17. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #17
    OP has a 1TB HDD --- running Sierra. That's not your ideal match for good performance.
    You don't get to expect great performance now, if there is no SSD to use as a boot drive.
    OP - it will not improve if you upgrade to High Sierra (macOS 10.13), and will probably get worse, until you do something to replace your spinning hard drive with an SSD (or use an external SSD as your boot system, which will be a noticeable improvement.
     
  18. limbov thread starter macrumors newbie

    limbov

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    #18
    I do not have any antyvirus. Can't find "root".


    Here is a screenshot for you.


    So basically I should change my HDD to SSD and buy extra 8gb ram? then it will be smoth?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. casperes1996 macrumors 68030

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #19

    Was that screenshot of Top taken during a time where it wasn't smooth? Your CPU is under no particular load, and you have RAM enough during the workloads that Top is reporting. There have been no recorded instances of swaps to or from disk.

    And while SSDs are always way faster than HDDs, from what I could tell, your disk is a Fusion Drive, is it not? From that era, a Fusion Drive of 1TB should include a 128GB SSD, which should be plenty to make most things SSD speed.

    What apps do you run when it isn't smooth and how exactly is it not smooth?
     
  20. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #20
    OPs screen shot shows two storage devices: one internal 1TB HDD, and an external (named Firefox) 128MB, probably a flash drive.
    So, by far the largest factor is the spinning HDD in use as the boot drive. Although not as dead-slow as some 5400rpm drives that I have encountered in 21.5-inch iMacs ---- at least it is a 7200rpm drive.
    Not a great advantage compared to an SSD, but worth something, I suppose.
     
  21. casperes1996 macrumors 68030

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #21

    That's the Storage section. It shows volumes, not disks. The 1TB disk could be a Fusion Drive and show up as a single entry in the screenshot. He'd have to select it in the menu to see if it's Fusion.
    And the Firefox is unlikely to be an external drive. I wager it's a Disk Image
     
  22. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #22
    On the top menubar, click on "Go", then "Go to Folder...":
    1. Enter: /Library/LaunchAgents.
    2. Enter: /System/Library/StartupItems
    Next open system preferences, "Users & Groups", "Login Items".

    Show what is contained in each mentioned above.
     
  23. limbov thread starter macrumors newbie

    limbov

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    #23
    SS's for you TAZ
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Merode macrumors 6502

    Merode

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Warszawa, Poland
    #24
    I think the biggest issue yet is that nobody asked OP to really describe what does he mean by 'lagging a lot'. Limbov, please describe the issue precisely, for example: 'my computer starts in 2 minutes, while my brother's in 30 seconds', or: 'I often see spinning beach ball when opening applications which doesn't happen on brother's iMac'.

    On the side-note, please post your brother's iMac specification. One key aspect that comes to mind is: maybe your brother has swapped HD for an SSD? This would cause huge difference and might make it seem your new iMac is very slow.
     
  25. limbov thread starter macrumors newbie

    limbov

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    #25

    Sure.
    While I try to open for exemple a photo ,it's taking even up to 15-20 seconds before shows up (usually without "beach ball")
    Taking longer to open a photoshop ,lightroom.
    When I try to write a code in Xcode is just like one big lag. Write a few "words" and lag... All time same..
     

Share This Page