Problem with iPad and yahoo(please test)

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Fishels, Sep 6, 2015.

  1. Fishels macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    #1
    Hi guys I'm not trying to be a bother but I was wondering if you would all be so kind as to test something for me. I own an iPad Air 2 with the latest possible iOS firmware. I use a website called yahoo answers a lot and noticed that not long after this latest update something doesn't work quite right. The "show more" tab on questions won't open up anymore. I called up Apple and the employee was very friendly (they always are but this one more so) so he wanted to test it himself. He went to a question and everything worked fine on his iPhone 6 with latest firmware, but when he opened with his iPad he had the same problem I'm reporting. He theorized that it's probably a bug with yahoo and the iPad's code so we both submitted bug reports asking for a fix. There is no guarantee they will respond however and he did say it was possibly caused by the update. He said I was welcome to backup my device and test it on the iOS it came with but I'm not too good with this stuff lol(have pics of my dog who recently passed and don't want to lose them if I do something wrong).I was wondering if maybe you guys could test it out on your iPad's? Here is a sample. Click the "show more button" and see if it works please.

    https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20150719081723AAdumIE

    Please tell me what iPad you have and the firmware please. I'm sorry to ask for such a silly favor but I love this website and want to get to the bottom of things.
     
  2. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
  3. Fishels thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    #3
    Hmmmm thank you very much! I'm hoping possibly someone with an older iOS will come in but thanks so much for telling me!
     
  4. kazmac macrumors 601

    kazmac

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    in a Shaw Brothers wu xia
    #4
    While I cannot test (no iPad), I've had problems with Yahoo! mail in early versions of iOS 8 and it took a call to Apple and then complaining on their iPhone feedback page with my case # to get a positive result. The bug was fixed two days later (in my case, mail from various subfolders would not load.)

    I think it's bugs on both parties sides, but seeing as Yahoo are impossible to get a hold of, OP I'd suggest you fill out the feedback form for the iPad and give them your case # from the Apple rep you spoke with.

    Best of luck.
     
  5. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #5
    Doesn't work for me either.

    It's doesn't seem to work with Chrome either. Strange it only effects the iPad.
     
  6. mi7chy macrumors 68040

    mi7chy

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #6
    Chrome on iOS uses the same rendering engine as Safari so it won't make a difference. Same issue here not only on my iPad but also on iPhone 4 running 7.1.2 before I fixed it by trading it in for $25. My $25 Verizon prepaid Moto G works fine with Chrome though.
     
  7. Fishels thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    #7
    So is it most likely a problem with the site or the iOS? Would downgrading help you think?
     
  8. Fishels thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    #8
    I'll definitely try that in the meantime thanks
     
  9. mi7chy macrumors 68040

    mi7chy

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #9
    iOS if it works on other platforms.
     
  10. Fishels thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    #10
    Well darn. So odd about what you said about chrome. Are all browsers like this on the iPad device?
     

Share This Page