Problem with iPhone setup

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by bumpy1monkey, Jul 11, 2017.

  1. bumpy1monkey, Jul 11, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2017

    bumpy1monkey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    #1
    Hello,

    About a month or so ago, I purchased a used iPhone from Gamestop to replace my last one which had a bad antenna and battery. About two weeks ago, I cracked the screen and broke the digitizer. Icould not use the touchscreen, so I connected it to iTunes and restored it and sent it in for repair. After getting it back, this comes up when I try to set it up. Does anyone know how to fix this or what this is?

    Thanks.

    PICS:
    http://imgur.com/a/FE2dH
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Audit13 macrumors 6502a

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  3. bumpy1monkey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    #3
    Just added, forgot earlier.
     
  4. Stefan johansson macrumors 65816

    Stefan johansson

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    Tried to enter your username and password for your Apple account? Phone must be connected to Apple account to be activated?
     
  5. Audit13 macrumors 6502a

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #5
    The phone can be set up without being connected to an apple account.

    The phone either needs a sim, activated or not, and a connection to the internet or to be connected to iTunes.

    Looks like the phone is locked to an icloud account. Take it back to the repair shop if your credentials don't get you past the username screen.
     
  6. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #6
    It looks to me that the iPhone is attached to mobile device management by Saks & Company LLC.
     
  7. Stefan johansson macrumors 65816

    Stefan johansson

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    Whatever it's locked to,OP need username and password to set it up.
    Not sure if it's some stolen phone or a phone sold by someone that forgot to reset it.
     
  8. bumpy1monkey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    #8
    Apple credentials didnt work. Does anyone know a way to get rid of this? Do you think GameStop might be able to help since thats where I bought it? Maybe Apple?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  9. jetsam macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    #9
    Where did you send it it for repair? It sounds like the repairer may have switched phones on you. You will probably have to contact them for resolution.
     
  10. bumpy1monkey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    #10
    I will contact them. I considered that possibility but they were the ones who first alerted me of the problem because they were unable to test it because they couldnt activate it.
     
  11. Stefan johansson macrumors 65816

    Stefan johansson

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Location:
    Sweden
    #11
    IF IT was bought at GameStop,return it to them,and explain the problem. If they know who they got it from,they could help you. And next time,look for a certified refurb phone at your Apple reseller instead,maybe cost more,but obviously less trouble.
     

Share This Page