Problem with jailbreaking/unlocking: 3gs

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by stephsays, Jul 19, 2011.

  1. stephsays macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #1
    Okay, so I really need some help/advice. I bought an iPhone 3gs and it was on 3.1.3 firmware. I'm on T-Mobile, so I got straight to jailbreaking it. I jailbroke it with Spirit and it was really fast and insanely easy. Then I got on Cydia and installed blackra1n to unlock it. It completed and said that the download was done but there was a popup saying that it was updating the data that didnt let me do anything. So I left it for a while, but then turned off the phone. When I turned it back on, it went to the apple logo then a white loading bar with the apple aurora background. It filled the loading bar completey, but still hadnt changed. So I left it for a while again. When I look back at it, it was on the same screenshot. So I turned it off and on again. But this time, it only went as far as the apple logo. I did this two more times with the same result. I tried to fix by putting in recovery mode. I plugged it into itunes but to restore it, i'd have to update it to 4.3.4. I know that i could jailbreak 4.3.4 with redsn0w or pwnagetool. But i'm afraid that it would change my baseband to 4.3.4 and I know that there is no unlock for that baseband. So now I dont know if i should let itunes update it and risk trying to unlock it or if i should downgrade it as soon as it updates. (but downgrading looks really complicated and im not sure if i can do that) Or maybe there's a way to fix it without updating it? HELP!
     
  2. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #2
    You should have installed ultrasn0w to unlock your 3GS. Try using TinyUmbrella to kick the iPhone out of recovery mode.

    If that doesn't work you might have to restore? Do you know if the iPhone had SHSH saved?
     
  3. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #3
    I don't believe there's an untethered jailbreak yet for 4.3.4. You'll have to use redsn0w tethered and install the iPad baseband.
     
  4. stephsays thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #4
    I tried with sn0wbreeze, but it just wouldnt recognize the ipsw. I downloaded from three different sources and all three times it said it wasnt a "valid ipsw"
    Is how does tinyumbrella work? Do i just download it and follow the steps on the program?
    And im not sure about the SHSH.
     
  5. stephsays thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #5
    Well how do i do that? i have redsn0w downloaded but im not sure what version.
     
  6. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #6
  7. stephsays thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #7
    So, do i have to do something seperately to get the ipad basband, or does it do it automatically? And do you know if I'll still be about to unlock it for t-mobile even with 4.3.4? does the ipad baseband restrict it?
     
  8. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #8
    I only recommended the older Redsn0w because I find that sometimes the newer ones run into trouble with the iPad baseband. I do not have experience with the 4.3.4/6.15.00 combination and therefore am unable to tell you if it will work solidly or not.
     
  9. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #9
    Why are we jumping to the ipad baseband so quickly. The phone was on version 3 of the firmware it was using Tmobile. It obviously had an older baseband either 4.xx or 5.13. Surely the best approach is to try and keep that baseband by using Tiny umbrella to check for SHSH and then using custom firmware.

    In fact, since firmware version 3 does not need SHSH the best approach would be to restore to 3.1.3
     
  10. Abs_p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #10
    Agreed.. And the phone would work faster too on 3.1.3 .. iOS 4 was built for iPhone 4. Rest all runs crap on it ;)
    But I don't think ur last statement is true.I remember we cudnot restore to 3.1.3 once apple stopped signing them..I mayb wrong :)
     
  11. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #11
    yes you are right I was thinking of the 3G the 3GS will need shsh to go to 3.1.3.
    I bet those shsh are on Cydia.
     
  12. Abs_p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #12
    If it was jailbroken then he is sure in luck.. :)
     
  13. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #13
    It would have had to have been jailbroken while 3.1.3 was still being signed (over a year ago) or else he won't have SHSH.
     
  14. stephsays thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #14
    Still having problems. I tried to save the 3.1.3 shsh blobs since i havent restored it yet. I downloaded tinyumbrella, but my device just wouldnt show up. So i downloaded Autoshsh. I went through all the steps and at the end it asked me to pick a file location so i put it in my documents. after i pressed save, two popups showed. One saying that i was done and that it should be saved in my location and saved on cydia. and onether from java saying that an error occured and that it wasnt able to open it. So i did this twice more to the same result. I dont know if the shsh blobs are really saved and if its okay to restore it because i can downgrade it with my "save" shsh blobs. I just downloaded ifaith. I dont know what my next move should be?
     

Share This Page