problem with jb my 3gs on 3.1.2

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ayman, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. ayman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    #1
    ok here's the story, i had my 3gs on 3.1.2 and i had tethered jb using blackra1n.
    i saved my shsh files using cydia. last time i checked it said its saved on 3.1.3
    i tried to restore to 3.1.2 and 3.1.3 cuz i wanted to jailbreak using spirit but neither worked. so i used spirit anyway and now its stuck in a loop. what should i do???
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    My guess is that you have iTunes 9.2. If you do then Spirit doesn't work with 9.2 and you'll have to restore your iPhone in DFU mode, then run Spirit on a computer that has iTunes 9.1.1 or lower. After your iPhone has been jailbroken you can use iTunes 9.2 to sync your stuff with your iPhone.
     
  3. ayman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    #3
    i have itunes 9.1
    i cant restore thats the problem
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    Restore it in DFU mode. To get into DFU mode just hold down both buttons for exactly 10 seconds. Then release the sleep/power button, while still holding down the Home button, for 12 seconds. Ignore what your iPhone's screen does. Once you are in DFU mode the screen of the iPhone will be off or look black. This is normal. Plug it into iTunes and it will say it has detected an iPhone in Recovery Mode. Just restore it like normal. Below is an tutorial from iClarified on how to put it into DFU Mode.

    Note: It may take you a few tries before it gets into DFU mode. But keep trying, it will get there soon.

    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1034
     
  5. ayman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    #5
    done that. then when i shift click then choose either 3.1.2 or 3.1.3 i get this decide isnt eligible...
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
  7. ayman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    #7
    thanks for ur help
    well im pretty sure i saved my shsh files but it still says the device isnt eligible
    what can i check to see if theres something wrong somewhere...
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    You need to mod your hosts file. The link I posted above has instructions within it. Please read it.
     
  9. ayman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    #9
    this used to be the file

    Code:
    # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    #      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
    #       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host
    
    # 127.0.0.1       localhost
    i dont know if it matters but it didnt have ::1 localhost
    i added 74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com and it didnt work then i added ::1 localhost and it still didnt work :'(
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    Remove the ::1 localhost one and the apple one. Try using the following instead: 74.208.105.171 gs.apple.com
     

Share This Page