Problem with Mac The Ripper

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by leekohler, Apr 21, 2008.

  1. leekohler macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #1
    Hey guys, I've been trying to rip DVDs using Mac the Ripper in "feature only" mode. The problem I'm having is that I end up with the director commentary no matter what movie I rip. What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. nando2323 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #2
    Why don't you just do the whole DVD and then just rip out the movie after?
     
  3. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #3
    Sounds like you are choosing the wrong audio track
     
  4. leekohler thread starter macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #4
    A-ha! I bet that's it.

    Should I use handbrake for that?
     
  5. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #5
    Use DVD2oneX or Toast 8 or 9.
     
  6. nando2323 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #6
    Just rip the whole DVD using MTR and then Handbrake to encode it. That's pretty much the norm around here.
     
  7. leekohler thread starter macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #7
    Tried DVD2oneX. I had the same problem.

    Thanks! Will do!
     
  8. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #8
    Then you're definitely not going into the audio options and selecting the main audio track.
     
  9. leekohler thread starter macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #9
    How do you know which one it is?
     
  10. rWally macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #10
    Director's audio is usually only 2 channels while the main audio track is 5 or 6 I believe.
     
  11. leekohler thread starter macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #11
    Ah...duh! Thanks!
     
  12. sailon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    #12
    No offense - it could be PBKC

    PBKC = Problem is Between the Keyboard and the Chair.

    I had this problem and it was PBKC. Turns out the main feature was not English (Pan's Labyrinth - the main feature is Spanish). So, when I selected the English audio track in Handbrake, the only English audio track was encoded and it happened to be the Director's Commentary. Turns out this DVD has English Subtitles but is not dubbed in English.
     
  13. leekohler thread starter macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #13
    Gee thanks- didn't I already say that in my OP? :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page