problem with memory upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dizmonk, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. dizmonk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    #1
    Okay so I got my 21.5 i7... played with it for 2 days and then installed another 8GB of Crucial memory which I purchased from Amazon. Several strange things started happening. When I was swiping through screens I would often get a purely gray screen. In addition when that happened, I couldn't see the other screens (windows or whatever it's called) at the top of the screen. Finally when I installed a game for my daughter it (from the MacAPP store), it would freeze the entire computer.

    I uninstalled the game and only got the grey screens. I've uninstalled extra memory and everything seems to be MUCH better. So I'm back at the original 4GB from Apple. Ironically the computer is actually running faster. :confused::confused:

    So I'm assuming I had a bad batch of memory. Any suggestions? Anyone have this problem before? I'm wondering if I should just stick with the 4GB or pay Apple the ridiculous extra $$$ for their memory or order another batch of 8GB directly from Crucial.com???

    A little help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #2
    Return RAM

    DONT BUY FROM RAM FROM APPLE

    Buy RAM from Amazon Crucial OWC Newegg Tiger

    It appears you just got bad RAM
     
  3. Raid macrumors 68020

    Raid

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    it could also been ram that wasn't seated correctly. you could always put the new ram back in, make sure it's firmly seated in the computer than try it out again. If it goes buggy, send it back Crucial has a good rep for fixing problems like this.
     
  4. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
    Lifetime guarantee. They rock. Mention your issues and they may have some suggestions as well.
     
  5. dizmonk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    #5
    Is this a common occurrence when you add RAM to a Mac?
     
  6. forty2j macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    No more or less common than adding RAM to anything else.

    You need to 1) make sure you buy the right stuff, 2) make sure you install it properly, and 3) hope you didn't get a bad batch.

    I always go directly to crucial.com and let their app tell me exactly what I need. That way I have no chance of screwing up step 1. Step 2 I have from years of experience, hacking around the insides of PCs before I got a Mac; on unfamiliar systems like the MacBook I go to iFixit.com and follow their step-by-step instructions. Step 3.. I've never gotten a bad one, but it happens.
     
  7. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #7
    I'd recheck to make sure the ram is properly seated.

    Remove the stock Apple ram, install Crucial ram and see if problem persists.
    Switch.
    Remove Crucial ram, install Stock ram and see if problem persists.

    OWC is a great, great place to get your RAM from.
     

Share This Page