Problem with Migration Assistant- Please Help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mjo, Oct 26, 2013.

  1. mjo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    #1
    Hi All,

    I just got a new MacBook Pro and am using Migration assistant to transfer about 220GB of data off of an old laptop running Windows 7 via an Ethernet cable. I think the process was about 10 minutes from being finished, when windows updated some software and restarted. (I though I had auto updates turned off, but I guess I didn't.) :-(

    Now Migration Assistant on the Mac is showing that it is still working, but I reopened Migration Assistant on the PC, and it says "waiting to connect."

    My question is, is there a way to restart Migration Assistant on the Mac and get it to pick up where it left off?

    I am worried that if I restart the Mac, I will have to begin from the beginning.

    Thanks for any info you can give...

    Matt
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I have never seen a way to "resume" like you want.... I think you are going to just need to reboot both and start over.
     
  3. rick3000 macrumors 6502a

    rick3000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Coast
    #3
    I agree with what was said, you need to start over. Migration Assistant is finicky at best, I would highly recommend not using it if possible, because it tends to cause all sorts of odd problems.
     
  4. mjo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    #4
    Do you know if there will be duplicate files from the first attempt? Or will it just overwrite that data?

    ----------

    Do you know of a better way to go about this? What sorts of odd problems?
     
  5. rick3000 macrumors 6502a

    rick3000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Coast
    #5
    I would try Migration Assistant and see what happens, most people don't have an issue. However, I always seem to have issues with it. The last time I used it, whichever OS introduced iMessages, it would not let me login into my iCloud account. I also had issues with my Mac Mail trash not deleting, and a few other minor but very annoying problems.

    When I did a clean install, I reinstalled everything manually, then went application by application, and looked for any data related to the app, and moved it over via export/import, or even going into the User/Library.
     
  6. mjo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    #6
    Thanks all for the info!

    I ended up using migration assistant. It created a new user account to put everything in, which was confusing at first and would have been a pain if I had a lot of data in the existing user account. As it was, I deleted the old user account, renamed the new one and am good to go.

    Took about 4 hours to move the 200+GB of data, but glad to be up and running.

    Thanks folks!

    Matt
     

Share This Page