Problem with Photoshop in rMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ladeer, Jun 15, 2012.

1. ladeer, Jun 15, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2014
  2. londonweb macrumors 6502

londonweb

Confusing as hell - you're right.

I went to the Apple store today to see what my websites look like on Retina at 'standard' 1440x900. I'm a web designer and have a fair few photographic portfolio sites I've worked on that use responsive layout to fill the available window space with the image on the page.

On such sites I generally use an image size that is around 1000pixels in height; deliberately more than is usually needed so that on a 27" screen the image won't get pixelated or blurred if the window is fully expanded.

The curious thing is that on a 15" laptop these images are effectively shown at 50% of their normal height, so I walked in smugly believing that my photo sites were already 'retina-ready', but sadly it seems not-the images are noticeably pixelated even at small window sizes.

I'm not sure what to make of this and suspect that OSX is currently applying some kind of blanket image-resampling to deliver images at the right resolution. I'm left wondering if, in website terms, image dimensions (that we would normally apply as data in the code) have a different meaning on retina...

3. optics261 macrumors newbie

not that confusing!

Photoshop is not retina enabled yet so all your work is being displayed as it would be on your iMac. It is accomplishing this by 'pixel doubling' behind the scenes, which means no new artifact is introduced in the scaling up. for all intents and purposes, Photoshop knows that its working with a 1440x900 display.

Once Photoshop is retina enabled you will at least be seeing it at a similar 'size'/retina resolution as your iphone.

Further, and this is just a guess, I believe we will have options to edit /view a particular image in retina mode vs non-retina mode.

4. zerotiu macrumors regular

ugh, very confusing.