Problem with Quick time

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Fishtalk, Mar 16, 2009.

  1. Fishtalk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #1
    Have "just" discoved that my little camara takes movies too....
    Ok, So i edit my 4 or 5 bits of .mov into one movie... everything works fine.
    Then i throw out the originals to the trash 'cos i cant see the point of keeping 30Mb for 5 mb movie.... Still works fine.
    But when I empty the trash.... my edited movie wont open any more.
    I thought that once stuff was in the trash the ordi could'nt access it any more.... so as everything worked fine I empted the Trash.... and lost my movie...TWICE Now ! What am i doing wrong?
    Ps i made a special effort to "Save" the edited movie before throwing out the other stuff...
     
  2. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #2
    The trashed files were used as reference files. Make the movie self contained and you won't need them.
     
  3. Fishtalk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #3
    How do I make the movie "selfcontained' I thought I did that when I saved it... under a different name ie. New movie.... Just had a thought though, I didn't make it a .mov Just new movie.... athought it opened in Q/T but no image...I dont have sound on my camera anyway.
     
  4. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #4
    You're using QT Pro, correct?
    When you choose File>Save As
    you should see the attached dialog. Make sure self contained is checked.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Fishtalk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #5
    Thanks i have Q/T pro 7.4.5 but I didn't see the attached dialoge window when i saved....

    Soory ! I got it..... "save as" not just "save"
    Thanks guys or girls ??
     

Share This Page