Problems exporting a recording from VHS with EyeTV

jimTV

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 17, 2006
13
0
I wonder if anyone has had this problem with EyeTV, and knows how to solve it?...

I've attatched my my VHS player to my Elegato Hybrid, and recorded some clips.
The recordings are old, and sometimes flash into Black and White.
Viewing the recording on EyeTV is fine, the flashes are there exactly like the VHS and there's nothing I can do about that.
But ! When I export that recording (to a Quicktime or MPEG, or anything), where those flashes are I get a 2 second pause and gap in the audio !!

What's happening?
 

iMeowbot

macrumors G3
Aug 30, 2003
8,634
0
Macrovision gone awry, perhaps? Unfortunately, videotape transfers are only supported by the EyeTV 250, the Hybrid only works at all because you were lucky :(
 

jimTV

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 17, 2006
13
0
Nothing to do with Macrovision. This is home taped stuff. Nothing with licence issues (If that's what you mean?)

Elgato think it has something to do with Quicktime, and it's their software to blame. But I've noticed that if I go into the edit function in EyeTV, the jump in picture is about 2 seconds on the timeline too! Odd.
 

Motley

macrumors 6502
Dec 11, 2005
454
0
jimTV said:
Nothing with licence issues (If that's what you mean?)
What he means it that technically the eyetv hybrid does not officially support importing analog video only the 250 does (see the product matrix above).
 

jimTV

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 17, 2006
13
0
Seems to have been a problem with the digitising with Eye TV 2.3.1.
I re-digitised with 2.3.2 and the problem went away !

Ta Da !
 

macngirltosh

macrumors newbie
Jun 13, 2005
4
0
Will the Eyetv Hybrid do VHS recording, Unofficially?

Will the Eyetv Hybrid do VHS recording, Unofficially?

The only reason why I haven't invested in an EyeTv Hybrid is because the website says it will not record from a VCR, and I have tons of VHS tapes that I need to import. If someone can tell me that they got this to work, and that it was fairly simple, I would be so happy - and would order right away!!! :)
 

ftaok

macrumors 603
Jan 23, 2002
6,199
1,220
East Coast
I wonder if anyone has had this problem with EyeTV, and knows how to solve it?...

I've attatched my my VHS player to my Elegato Hybrid, and recorded some clips.
The recordings are old, and sometimes flash into Black and White.
Viewing the recording on EyeTV is fine, the flashes are there exactly like the VHS and there's nothing I can do about that.
But ! When I export that recording (to a Quicktime or MPEG, or anything), where those flashes are I get a 2 second pause and gap in the audio !!

What's happening?
I don't know where this thought came from, it's just kinda in my head.

Anyways, the "black and white" thing you mentioned triggered a thought that it may be a PAL/NTSC issue. You might want to check your system and tapes to make sure you're using the same PAL/PAL or NTSC/NTSC.

If that doesn't work, then maybe I'm crazy with random thoughts floating in my head.

ft
 

macngirltosh

macrumors newbie
Jun 13, 2005
4
0
Eye TV Hybrid to VHS

I have a new 24inch iMac - what would I use on the Mac to do the recording since the page says you can't use the EyeTV VHS Assistant?




Yes it will unofficially. But it's not a hardware encoder like the 250, so your Mac's processor has to do all the work of digitizing the files. If you have a new Intel Mac, no problem!

This is the FAQ from the Elgato site:
http://faq.elgato.com/index.php/faq/more/452/
 

xadiaz

macrumors newbie
Nov 28, 2006
2
0
VHS to EyeTV

HI!

I am trying to get signal from an AIWA TV which has video player incorporated, through a scart (out) and connected to a s-video cable, then to an EyeTV 200, and finally to my MAC. I've got Eye TV 1.8.5. I have set up S-video input, but I cannot get signal. CAn someone help me?? I have checked all cables and I don't know what else to do.

Thanks
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.