Problems installing Leopard on G5 Quad

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by axototl, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. axototl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #1
    Hi. I've tried installing Leopard on my G5 quad core (Intel cores) that was running OS 10.4 before. It said there was a problem with the BaseSystem, so I asked it to quit and reboot from the old OS, but now it's stuck in the Terminal application. I've removed the Leopard disk and inserted the original install disks that came with the machine, but it's not doing anything. All I can get is the list of 950 commands that I could type in.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #2
    ??
     
  3. axototl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #3
    (intel cores)

    as in the Mac Pro (i think) rather than PowerMac or whatever it was apple called the quad core machine built before they started using Intel processors.
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    The machines before they started using Intel CPUs where called PowerMacs. The first Mac Pros were Intel.
     
  5. axototl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #5
    Thanks. That's what I thought. My machine is a Mac Pro quad core in that case. Sorry for the confusion.
     

Share This Page