Problems Installing Ram

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Mr Easy Chillz, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. Mr Easy Chillz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #1
    I recently decided to upgrade the ram memory on my 2008 Macbook, so I bought two 2gb modules of ram (which total 4gb, which is the max for my computer). They should be compatible with my mac, but when I install both modules, my mac starts up with a black screen and stays that way. The only solution I found is to use one of the original 512mb modules and one of the new 2gb modules. I haven't got the foggiest clue why the two 2gb modules won't work together. Any help or suggestions?


    http://support.apple.com/kb/SP5
    I have the 2.1 Ghz White Macbook

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000T8WN8U
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    This comment explains it, I guess

    You somehow switched the address and the link title when providing your link, above is a proper hyperlink, and it looks like this:
    Code:
    [plain][URL="http://www.amazon.com/review/R34IOPSNLHFT1R/ref=cm_cr_dp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B000T8WN8U&nodeID=172282&tag=&linkCode="]This comment explains it, I guess[/URL][/plain]
     
  3. Mr Easy Chillz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #3
    Thanks, looks like I need to have a little talk with manufacture and amazon. Oh, and sorry for the hyperlink fail.


     
  4. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    So - what did you get ?

    sounds like PC6400 ram that Amazon describe as PC5300 ?

    there should be a label on the ram modules saying if PC6400 800MHz or PC5300 667MHz?
     
  5. eddiemoney85 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    #5
    when to apple store today and they said i could do the same thing but it needs to be: 667mhz 2x2gb 200 pin ddr2 in order to do the upgrade
     

Share This Page