Problems Making Skype Calls Via Edge

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by marcbkk, Jul 13, 2009.

  1. marcbkk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #1
    I am using the latest version of Skype on my 3G iPhone with Edge. My phone is running firmware 3.0 and is jailbroken and unlocked with Ultrasn0w.

    Skype works fine with Wifi, but it won’t let me make calls with Edge. I get the following error message (see attached screen shot) referring to 3G when in fact I don’t even have 3G service set up on my phone here on the AIS network in Thailand.

    Any thoughts on how I might be able to make Skype calls over Edge would be much appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
  3. MacGeek03 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #3
    yeah skype will not work over edge or 3g networks. It only works on Wi-Fi
     
  4. daonesteven macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #4
    i don't believe there is any way apple store would allow an app that is able to substitute its own services that they normally charge customers for. If Skype allowed calling via edge or 3g, there's no way anyone would have a calling/minutes plan.
     
  5. ian.maffett macrumors 6502

    ian.maffett

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    That made perfect sense to me the first time I read it - you can't use Skype to circumvent your contractual usage with your carrier.
     
  6. vinay427 macrumors 6502a

    vinay427

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #6
    Well, I would change that to iCall instead of Skype. Don't you still have to pay for Skype minutes to a landline/cell? In iCall it's free, but obviously WiFi only.
     
  7. marcbkk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #7
    Thanks. I was thinking that since I can send chat messages on Skype via Edge there was some way to place calls as well.

    Yes, you still have to pay for minutes on Skype for computer to telephone calls or for about US$13 a month you can have unlimited calling to land lines in over 40 countries and to cell phones in about 6 of those countries as well.

    iCall does not appear to be totally free though either: http://www.icall.com/plans/total-access/
     
  8. actorkid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #8
    hmmm I thought i read somewhere that if you're jailbroken, there's a way to trick the phone into thinking its on wifi when it's really on edge/3g. Didn't people do this for slingbox?

    if it is actually possible to do this, I would think this solution would fix your skype problem as well
     
  9. Ishimaru macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    Why the heck would you want to run Skype over EDGE? That's essentially dialup internet...VoIP sucks on speeds like that.
     
  10. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #10
    This thread is in the wrong forum, which is the reason why you are getting answers like "Skype only works in Wifi".
     
  11. cupofjoe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    If it's jailbroken, install VoIPover3G on Cydia. ;)
     

Share This Page