Problems Restoring From Time Machine

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Fu Manchu, Mar 25, 2016.

  1. Fu Manchu macrumors newbie

    Fu Manchu

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    #1
    Had my MBP Mid 2015 need to be restored from Time Machine.
    Everything, from scratch.

    So get things rolling from the selected back ups.
    Easy enough.

    Then left overnight to restore as it was estimated to take 9hrs or something redic

    Wake in the morning and "Restore Failed. Unable to restore from this back up" WTF?

    So try again only to have a message appear preventing me from accessing my TimeMachine BackUp as "it was being used by another machine".
    Well no kidding.
    It was, by my MBP!

    Fixed that issue by restarting my AirPort Extreme with the Back Ups on it and the MBP.
    Had my MBP BackUp available again in the drop down menu. Selected a slightly older BackUp, and just into the back up it fails again. "Can not restore"


    Right now I'm restoring just OS El Capitan and am thinking to try back up parts from that?
    Is this a futile effort?

    Can someone throw me a bone here?
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    Sorry, I have no idea. I had many troubles with Time Machine in the past and determined that it is not a safe way to back up. So I gave up on that and use CCC now.

    However, this is the Mac Pro forum ("Mac Pro" as in the tower workstation), and your question really has nothing to do with Mac Pros. You might get more answers in the OS X forum.
     
  3. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #3
    try installing os x from scratch, meaning use a sd card to boot ( because internet recovery might use an older version of os x to install os x ) , use the same user name and password, and use migration assistant instead. you can use migration assistant during the install of os x , or run it after os x is installed


    or try restore using wired ethernet

    never run disk utility or disk warrior on time machine sparse bundles. it is not advised. the only disk checking you should do to a sparse bundle is letting the time capsule check the disk during boot , or using the option key to ' verify backup set '
     
  4. Fu Manchu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Fu Manchu

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    #4
    annnd this is just what I did with great success.

    It worked.


    Rather than starting it up and going through the TimeMachine blah blah, I wiped the drive clean. Re-installed OSX. Went through the process presented to me as it was when I first set up the MBP and Bam! Fixed. Just as it was minus some passwords but working great :)

    P.S. Could Mods please move this to OSX as suggested by previous poster.

    This has been a solution I wasn't able to find easily on the intermanets and should help lots of others.
     

Share This Page