Problems running HD2600 XT under Windows on 2006 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mackilroy, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #1
    So, here's the scoop. I ordered the HD2600 a while ago and got it yesterday, and quickly installed it. At first, the card worked with both OS X and Windows, but after I stuck my Leopard DVD in the drive to update the drivers because it wasn't letting me switch the screen to the maximum resolution, it stopped working. To describe: I turn on the computer, I see the initial boot screen, then the screen remains blank and I can't see anything. I can take a video of it if need be.

    I did try installing ATI's catalyst drivers and then hooking my Mac Pro up to two screens (one on the HD2600, one on the 7300 GT) to see if that would let me mess with the card, but that failed.

    So, any ideas?
     
  2. Mackilroy thread starter macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
  3. newtech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #3
    Which leopard DVD the original 10.5 or the newer 10.5.1 retail disc?
     
  4. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #4
    Works fine for me...

    Mac Pro 2.66Ghz Quad (original model)
    Radeon HD 2600XT in slot 1 (16x slot), no other cards
    Windows XP sp2, ATI Catalyst version 2007.1101.2317.39832

    And this is on a 30" display as well.
     
  5. Mackilroy thread starter macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #5
    I have the original 10.5 disc.

    The thing is, I see the initial boot-up screen, but I don't see anything after that.

    You only have one card installed? Okay. I still have my 7300 GT in the machine, so I'll remove that and see if that helps.

    EDIT: Well, whaddya know, that worked. Guess you can only use one under Windows.

    Thanks. :)
     

Share This Page