Problems trying to update ATV2

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jimmy83, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. jimmy83 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #1
    Iam trying to upgrade my ATV2 to the latest build, 4.3.0 (Build 8F305): AppleTV2,1_4.3_8F305_Restore.ipsw but each time I plug into iTunes and restore it downloads the .ispw but then pops up with this message...

    the software for the apple tv was corrupted during download

    and the processing bar hangs until I press ok.

    Ive tried shift, restore but then iTunes is saying the firmware isnt completable, can anyone help?

    Running win7.
     
  2. jdisles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    #2
    Had the exact same problem. Phoned apple care and they said they are aware that there is a server issue on their part and it should be fixed shortly.
     
  3. newagemac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #3
    Why don't you just update in the "Update Software" menu on the Apple TV instead of using iTunes?
     
  4. F-six macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #4
    i just tried to restore my Apple TV 2gen, but it refused to do so. I got a message saying that updating failed. Guess it's the same problem. Will try again this weekend.
     
  5. gj02 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #5
    Im also having the same issue
    what happens if you shift and restore then select an ipsw yyou have downloaded ?

    is this AppleTV2,1_4.3_8F191m_Restore the very latest fw ?
    im just a bit cautious about shift and restoring this way on my 1st day of atv2, dont want to brick it if its possible to do so
     
  6. rudini macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #6
    I'm having the same issue, i bought it a couple of days ago from Best Buy and it came loaded with 4.0.

    Tried updating using the menu and iTunes. Both fail.

    -rudy
     
  7. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
  8. jdisles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    #8
    I tried holding the shift key while hitting restore and pointing to the ipsw file on my desktop. Unfortunately, that file was downloaded from the same Apple server and comes back as corrupted when trying to load.

    I also brought this process up with Apple support when I spoke with them and they said it was all related to problems they are having with their internal servers.
     
  9. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #9
    Yup tried that and get the exact same error message.

    I also brought this process up with Apple support when I spoke with them and they said it was all related to problems they are having with their internal servers.[/QUOTE]

    Ah right, did they say when the problem will be sorted?
     
  10. woompa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #10
    Any updates on this issue?

    I just got a slightly used ATV2 from someone with iOS 4.1 on it. I too have tried to update and restore via the software with "unsuccessful" messages. I tried to restore in itunes and I get the "corrupt download" message. If I try to shift + restore to a 4.3 version that I downloaded, I get "not compatible" message. I hope all of this is related to Apple server issues because this thing is worthless to me without an update and jailbreak. Are there any other options to update to any newer version (even 4.2) without downloading from or verification by Apple servers?
     
  11. lchaidez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    #11
    same issue

    Just inserting my 2 cents. Same issue, just bought mine yesterday from the apple store, plugged it in... update fails.

    Tried both wired and wireless internet connection and micro-usb to itunes restore & update. All fail.

    For once, thank god i am not the only one. :)
     
  12. woompa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #12
    Found problem

    Since I was trying to update my ATV2 so I caould jailbreak it, etc....I found this post which explains it all. The updated file on Apples server is corrupt. I am trying now to download manually from megaupload.

    http://forum.firecore.com/topic/4805?page=2
     
  13. woompa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #13
    It Worked!

    OK to make sure it was a solid copy, I downloaded the apple firmware from the megavideo link in the firecore forum(that I linked to). I did a shift+ restore in itunes and it updated perfectly! I also just did a seasonpass jailbreak with the same firmware and it was flawless.
     
  14. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #14
    Woompa...this is good news. Will try mine shorty. Thanks for the advice :)
     
  15. leeds utd fc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Leeds UK
  16. jimmy83, Jun 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2011

    jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #16
    What process did you use? What iOS you running now? The megaupload link in post no.26 is 318.75 MB File name: AppleTV2,1_4.3_8F305_Restore.ipsw when I tried updating via iTunes, that said the download was 289.5mb is that megaupload correct?
     
  17. leeds utd fc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Leeds UK
    #17
    I just clicked on the software update on the atv unit itself, and did the update ota. I'd been trying, on and off, for the last couple of days without success. But it finally worked this evening.
    Not sure what version it's been updated to though...sorry. I'll check when She Who Must Be Obeyed stops finding me jobs to do!
     
  18. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
  19. F-six macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #19
    My ATV just updated OK. It was somewhat weird though. First it wouldn't update, tonight I got the same error as earlier this week. After that I gave up and watched a movie (the ATV is working, I just wanted to restore because of the delays finding libraries). After I watched the movie I got the message 'there is an update available, want to upgrade now?' I said 'yes' but immediately I got an error message. Just for good luck I tried one more time from the menu and there it was.. No error! I have a fresh 4.2.2 system on the ATV.
     
  20. JBmac macrumors member

    JBmac

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Eastern, PA
    #20
    Ruburbished ATV2 not updating

    Just got a refurbished ATV2 last night, works great, but would not update the OS. Would not go past the letter "T" in the networks area of TV either, as I was trying to find USA network.
    Anyway just off the phone with Apple and they state the update server not working right now, don't know exactly when it will be back up, but should be soon.
     
  21. BCurry1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #21
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Just bought an apple tv tonight at apple store. I tried for a hour to update, approx. 20 attempts. I tried wifi and ethernet, and rebooted multiple times. After that I boxed it back up, to return it tomorrow. I might wait a day now after reading this thread.
     
  22. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #22
    i am on my second unit. the first one would not update and would not show up in itunes. now the second one is not updating. the file is corrupted. hoping for a fix looks like i have to take it back.
     
  23. F-six macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #23
    The Apple tv 2gen doesn't show up in iTunes like your iPad or iPhone. The original Apple TV did show up like that, the 2gen doesn't. Just make sure you have 'sharing' enabled in iTunes and your Apple TV and it will work. You know you have connected to your iTunes files when your files show up under 'computer' on your TV.

    Not able to update is caused by a faulty server at Apple's. Your Apple TV is probably just fine, we have to wait untill Apple got the server issue sorted.
     
  24. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #24
    That worked for me...all updated ok and jailbroke with seas0npass.
     
  25. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #25
    it does show up. you need a micro-usb cable
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page