Problems Upgrading To 16GB RAM Mid-'10 MBPro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by HemingwaysPen, Mar 25, 2014.

  1. HemingwaysPen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    #1
    After seeing all the literature on how it's possible to upgrade from 4GB to 16 for a mid-2010 MacBook Pro, and going a bit of research, I went ahead and purchased this:

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008LTBJFW/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Crucial 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3-12800) CL11 SODIMM 204-Pin 1.35V/1.5V Notebook Memory for Mac CT2C8G3S160BM

    ...but it's not working. I either get a black screen with no response, or a black screen with the three beeps.

    I don't think I have the wrong RAM. I've looked through countless MacRumors and Apple forum posts for an answer, so I'm not just being lazy and posting here.

    I've installed and re-installed multiple times, switching the slots time and again. Also, just using one stick of 8GB isn't working either.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    The 15" mid 2010 models can only use 8GB. To get to 16 GB, the 13" models must use PC3-8500 1066MHz, and no faster. So you either have the wrong computer, or the wrong RAM.
    Other World Computing sells the correct RAM for the 13".
    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/Apple_MacBook_MacBook_Pro/Upgrade/DDR3
     
  3. HemingwaysPen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    #3
    Sorry, mine is 13". Also, I tried an 8GB stick and 2GB stick, and that works.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    As I said, you have the wrong RAM to get to 16GB.
     
  5. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #5
    How is it wrong? The OP is using 1067MHz RAM.

    1066 / 1067MHz RAM is really 1066.66(repeating)MHz (i.e. 1066 2/3MHz)
    RAM. Some people just drop the decimals when describing it. Others round it up.
     
  6. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #6
    No, read his first post. He bought 1600MHz RAM. No matter what speed RAM you put in the 2010 MBP, it runs at 1066/1067 so this won't be reflected in "About this Mac."
     
  7. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #7
    Ohh....yeah, if he bought 1600MHz, it's not gonna work at 16GB.
     

Share This Page